Don’t Be A Leader… Be A Follower!

The first time I received an e-mail from WordPress that said, “Guess what? You have your first official follower!”… well, I was elated. Someone thought enough of my blog to want to see the posts. On a regular basis! I quickly reciprocated the friendly gesture. Did I know this person? Well, no. No, I did not. But I checked out their blog, and decided they weren’t some crazy psychopathic individual… who happened to live in another country, anyway. It was safe.

Since then, I’ve had TWO MORE PEOPLE become followers of my blog. Yes, that brings my grand total to THREE.

What does it mean, to have followers? I am sure it’s prestige. With WordPress, if you follow someone’s blog you receive an instant e-mail of that post, so you won’t miss a single one.

Now, I do have what I affectionately refer to as “sneaky readers”. These people don’t want to commit. They want the freedom of not being tied down to notifications, and want to read my blog when they are damn good and ready to! I know of them, because WordPress is awesome, and informs me of each and every reader (and they do NOT count my own sneaky peeks of my blog, which I often read a few times a day to ensure I don’t have misspelled words or some grammatical error that someone will make fun of me for later).

I’ve given this some thought, and I have decided I want to ask for a few more followers. I want to bring my number up to TEN. It’s a nice, round number. I’ve read other blogs, who have 50+ followers. I don’t expect to get that high. I have roughly 40 people who read me, as it is. But if you could find it in your heart to follow me… that is what I want for Christmas this year- more followers. It’s free. It only takes a moment of your time to enter in your e-mail address. My blog will be e-mailed to your e-mail address, and if you don’t want to read me, just push the DELETE button. I won’t be offended. I won’t know.

Let’s be followers this holiday season.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Be A Leader… Be A Follower!”

  1. I always do a little happy dance when I get a new follower! It’s a rush when I get those rare emails informing me that I have comments! Keep up the good work and you’ll have dozens of followers in no time 🙂

Leave a comment