The Summer Chronicles

Hello Thursday! Meet my blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies  who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

It’s been a long time, ladies! 

After a summer hiatus, the blog group is back in full swing, with a minor adjustment. Due to the busy lives we all contend with, we’ve decided to start blogging bi-monthly. It gives us all a much-needed break between posts, allowing us time to reflect on the topics we’re given.

To kick us back into the routine, it was Tracey’s choice, and she chose: My summer. 

Summer floated by, a two-month break that never feels long enough. When I was kid, we were given a solid three months, with school ending early June, picking back up the day after Labor Day. That’s not the way it works in Arizona. We’ve got a modified school year schedule. That means, more vacation time during the year, less vacation time during summer break.

The day after my eldest had chanted his “no more pencils, no more books, no more teacher’s dirty looks”, we were off on a camping adventure to San Diego, CA at the end of May.  Or, should I say, a misadventure? Either way, there were a lot more pros than cons, and there’s been enough time that’s passed by now to look back on the trip with more fondness, less annoyance. I’m so glad we spent a week with close friends. Well, more like close family. I’d be willing to endure any number of camper water leaks for their company, again!

Camping at Santee Lakes, San Diego CA
Camping at Santee Lakes, San Diego CA

I’d heard through the grapevine (Facebook) that there was a special activities card called the “Pogo Pass“. In a nutshell, it’s a pass that allows the user to attend various venues, like water parks, mini-golf/bowling, zoos, etc. for free. Why is it free? Because the Pogo people have entered into contracts with said venues, to offer discounted rates for those carrying the Pass. For $40 (a special rate offered through our elementary school), I received a year-long ticket into places my boys enjoy, like glow mini-golf, or a place called Makutu’s Island.  We spent a lot of time with the Pass during the summer.

Oh! And, the library. We can never forget about the library, but that’s a give in. We always go to the library.

My husband celebrated a birthday in June. Mine in July. We also celebrated our seven year wedding anniversary. I often joke and mention how my cat, Tank (God rest his soul), is the longest relationship I’ve ever entered into.  Thirteen years. Ninety-one in cat years. Give it another seven, and my husband will surpass that.

The boys started a new year of school in July. Suddenly, I found myself with a sixth grader, and a kindergartner. I used to imagine what it would be like, feeling like that day was a distant experience, yet there it was. BAM. I always figured I’d have a lot more time on my hands, but I’m still not feeling it. Maybe I’m putting too much emphasis on filling my days up with projects and stuff to do. I could be going about it the wrong way.

There are plenty of days where I miss them while they’re gone.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I went to my twenty-year high school reunion last month. I still can’t believe it’s been that long. I remember a time where I thought that anyone in their thirties had to be OLD, but now I live by the motto of, “thirties are the new twenties”. I really believe that. I think I’m healthier, and happier, the older I get. I guess that comes with time, and wisdom.

8dad593a-ce58-403e-a40d-959b385ef571

Overall, it was a fun, worthwhile summer. But, I’m looking forward to the cooler temps and the fall/winter holidays that beckon this time every year. As with most things, it feels like it will take forever, but it never does. It will be here before we know, and go just as fast, just like summer breaks do!

 

One thought on “The Summer Chronicles”

Leave a Reply

