About A Girl

If you’ve been with me for a few years, you know I’m in good company on Thursdays. We’re a fantastic group of ladies,  giving insight on various topics.  Click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

This post was due last week. I feel as though I’m still playing catch up since going on vacation, but better late than never, I like to say.

Last week’s topic was Melissa’s pick, and she chose: Write a tribute to a musician or band.

People who know me personally, won’t be a bit surprised by my choice. Not even my father, who supplied two albums to my collection when I was a teen. I love Nirvana. I have a special place in my heart for their music, a fire lit inside me when I was in the 7th grade.

The middle school I’d attended during my turbulent tween/teen years hosted an after school dance party every Friday afternoon. I usually would go, sitting on the bleachers in gym class, watching the other students dance to the big hair bands, like Poison. Or Bon Jovi. Not that I had anything against those bands. I choked up during “Every Rose Has It’s Thorn” just like every other kid did. But, nothing compelled me, not like “Smells Like Teen Spirit” had.

You should have seen me, virtually all alone on the floor. I moshed before I even knew what moshing was, throwing my body around, physically letting out my hormonal angst and frustrations while Kurt Cobain brought me home.  I’d never experienced anything like it.

My love for the band only grew the older I got. My goal was to acquire the other albums, the ones I didn’t know about. Like Bleach. “School” is one of my favorites. I mean, I often felt like a prisoner in school. So, the lyrics, “Won’t you believe it/it’s just my luck/no recess” fit in nicely.

 

At some point during my high school years, I dated someone who was also a huge Nirvana fan. Go figure. We didn’t listen to much outside of what was on the Nevermind album. He introduced me to an entirely new way of viewing “Drain You”. The first time we heard it together, we were skipping school and hanging out at a friend’s house, just the two of us, in a bedroom.

There’s a part in the song, where the the sound dies down, just a little. Drums small. Kurt’s voice reverates a quiet “You…” “You…” Guitar. Cymbals on the drums. As the guitar picks up, and the drums become stronger, larger, all-encompassing, my then-boyfriend moved closer to me, our foreheads touching while he gazed intently into my eyes, willing me not to move.

Once the drums break and the guitar picks back up, he swoops in, kissing me hard, leaving me nearly breathless. “Pass it back and forth/in a passionate kiss/ from my mouth to yours/” a distant second to the emotions and feelings surging within my body.

The two albums my father purchased for me, for Christmas, were more obscure. On The Muddy Banks of the Wishkah, and Incesticide. “Hairspray Queen” is a great one. I imagine Kurt is singing about Courtney Love, but I don’t know that for sure. “Dive” is another one. It’s one of my favorites.

From Muddy, “Blew” really resonates with me. I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s because of the line, “Is there another reason for your stain.” As in, we’re all screwed up in some way or another, a “stain” or blemish in life. I think we can all relate to feeling a little screwy, especially when you’re a teenager.

One of my favorites, and I’m sure many others would agree, would be the Unplugged album. Nirvana was stripped down to bare bones, creating something downright majestic. It’s how most of us remember Kurt. I remember sitting in front of the television, absolute awe keeping me in one spot during the entire show.

Over the years, I get into these moods where I feel compelled to listen to Nirvana. It might be months in the making, then I’ll add songs to my MP3 player, giving me a boost while I go for a morning run, reminiscing my youth and the good and bad that came with it. While I’m not nearly as angsty as I once was, the love for the band is still there, strong and uninhibited, as it has been for nearly sixteen years,

 

Some of my other favorites:

Lithium-Nevermind

Where Did You Sleep Last Night- Unplugged

Something In The Way- Nevermind

Pennyroyal Tea- In Utero

Lounge Act- Nevermind

Love Buzz- Bleach

Negative Creep- Bleach

*** the blog group is taking a break, but we’ll be back soon, with all-new topics. Have a wonderful summer!*** 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “About A Girl”

  1. Nirvana got me through teen angst. However, I’m only loyal to Nevermind. I love love love that CD. I had it on cassette for a long time and then finally ordered it on CD to play in my car. I even used “Something in the Way” in a small play I directed in my HS directing class. Great post!

Leave a Reply

