Schools Out For Summer!

If you’ve been with me for a few years, you know I’m in good company on Thursdays. We’re a fantastic group of ladies,  giving insight on various topics.  Click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

This week we’re writing about whatever’s on our mind, and for me, I’ve been reflecting a lot on this past school year, and all the changes that went with it.

My fifth grader started a new school in a new state, after moving from the school he’d attended from kindergarten-fourth grade. Today is his last day. In the beginning, he wasn’t sure how he felt about the changes. His new school is twice the size, houses a lot more students. It was a little overwhelming, especially when you’re the new kid.

First day of school
First day of fifth grade

I know initially it was an adjustment for him. He’s my cautious son, the one who takes his time and is careful with his approach with anything new, one of the many things I love about him. As the days turned into weeks, into months, though, I could see just how much he loved his new school, and the new people in it.

He’s also maturing, much faster than I’d imagine he would. He’s becoming more independent, more self-assured and confident. He recently interviewed for a peer mediation slot at school, where he’ll get to help other students who need guidance or assistance, and he was accepted. He also wants to join the sixth grade band, playing the french horn. We’ve talked about football, soccer, various games he engages in with his friends at recess. He wants to get involved in fall sports.

I feel like he’s grown so much this year.

His first day of kindergarten
His first day of kindergarten

I’ve blogged about my experience with homeschooling the little guy this year, for Pre-K. Yesterday was his last day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt’s been challenging and rewarding, tough and fun, a myriad of experiences and feelings. I am incredibly proud of how much he’s learned over the last ten months, proud of how far he’s come. He could barely write his name when we started this journey together, now he can write, read, knows his colors, shapes, everything he’ll need to know for kindergarten.

I’m proud of myself, too, for sticking with it and not giving up when I’d feel frustrated or my heart wasn’t in it on a particular day. This was a big commitment, and I commend all teachers, the ones who work inside a classroom, or the ones who work inside their homes.

My goal was to prepare him for kindergarten, to make sure he’s ready for the new school year. I feel as though we both made that happen, all with his charming personality and fun approach to life. I know he’s going to be a welcome addition to any classroom.

13015690_10153726655638681_3988541706369522849_nI’m going to miss him, but he wants so desperately to go to the “big kid” school, with his big brother, and I can’t blame him. I know he’s going to love it!

We’ve got a lot planned for the summer, and I’m looking forward to spending as much time with my boys as I can, before they’re both back in school, ready for new adventures, new experiences. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for us, for next year.

12193463_10153347056888681_4400332999172969648_n

2 thoughts on “Schools Out For Summer!”

Leave a Reply

