Life Imitating Life Hacks

If you’ve been with me for a few years, you know I’m in good company on Thursdays. Check out this fantastic group of ladies,  giving insight on various topics.  Click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

For this week’s topic, Melissa requested that we try out a life hack we’ve seen online and talk about the experience. Or, if we’ve done one in the past, talk about that experience, as well.

I’ve never paid much attention to online life hacks. After checking out the list Melissa sent us as a reference guide, I noticed I’ve done a few of the hacks, all on my own. Like, life hack #2480.

tumblr_o472obLawZ1sa4vz3o1_500

I’ll throw in lemon or orange peels, too, to keep things smelling fresh.

Then there’s #2426

tumblr_o2alq7Txnt1sa4vz3o1_500

I drink a large glass of water every morning.

Here’s one I need to try, the next time I eat something spicy. #2431

tumblr_o2gcnqKAs51sa4vz3o1_500

I usually drink a glass of milk to help contend with the heat. I didn’t know that sugar is the cure!

Since we were tasked with trying out a life hack (or two), I decided to go with a hack that’s more difficult for me to accomplish. Like this one, #2401.

tumblr_o1dcqaEtZQ1sa4vz3o1_500

I’m no artist, not unless you count stick figures as artistry. So, I figured I could attempt to make the perfect circle, by following the rules outlined in the hack. Here’s how my circle turned out:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I wouldn’t say it’s “perfect”, but it’s a lot better than I could ever accomplish on my own!

Then, there’s this one, #2383:

tumblr_o0p5f0HgfW1sa4vz3o1_500

My entire household consists of males, other than yours truly. I decided to test this theory with all three of the men in my life, omitting the cat, of course. Here’s how this turned out:

Husband: Very true to the life hack. He went with a rock on the very first round. This made me optimistic in regards to what the boys would pick.

10-year old: Paper! He chose paper, and I chose paper, too, following the rules of the hack. When I told him why I wanted to play a rock, paper scissors game with him so early in the morning (we just did this about ten minutes ago) he informed me that he ALWAYS picks paper on his first round. Go figure.

5-year old: He went with paper, too! Now, he’s still learning the game, but he went with paper two rounds in a row, then he went with rock.

Conclusion? Maybe for adult males, rock is where it’s at. For the kids? Not so much.

Now here’s one hack I can really get into! #2364

tumblr_nzzfp1gsap1sa4vz3o1_500

I’ll be sure to test this one, as often as I can.

What experiences have you had with life hacks? Are there any you’d add to this list?

4 thoughts on “Life Imitating Life Hacks”

  1. Haha! Am gonna steal the chocolate one! The Rock Paper Scissors one was really interesting — people really do study everything. Great post!

Leave a Reply

