A Glass Half Full Kind Of Gal

If you’ve been with me for a few years, you know I’m in good company on Thursdays. Check out this fantastic group of ladies,  giving insight on various topics.  Click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

For this week, Denise asked us if we’re conspiracy theorists.

I had to really ponder this topic, feeling a little worn out from my random thought processes. I aim for honesty, so I tried hard to think back to moments where I felt as though things in the universe weren’t on the up and up. According to Wiki, the definition of a conspiracy theory is:

“an explanatory or speculative hypothesis suggesting that two or more persons or an organization have conspired to cause or to cover up, through secret planning and deliberate action, an event or situation typically regarded as illegal or harmful.”

My own personal conclusion? I’m not prone to conspiracy theories. I try to find the logic and reason in most situations. A recent example would be my youngest son’s kindergarten vaccinations. Moving from Nebraska to Arizona meant a whole onslaught of changes, differences, one being the difference between Nebraska’s vaccination schedule, vs. Arizona’s. While I knew the little guy was up for kindergarten vaccines, in order to attend elementary school in the fall, I didn’t realize there would be such vast differences.

I compared the required vaccines at his school, with the suggested vaccines at the pediatric office. For example, the school requires one dose of Varicella, as outlined by the CDC, and  the American Academy of Pediatrics. A dose given between 12-18 months. Which, my son has. Yet, the pediatric office suggested I give him another one.

immuno2

I said NO.

No one pressured me, or tried to force me into giving my son shots I didn’t feel he needed. But, I thought it was interesting. And, I did wonder what the reasoning behind that was. If he’s current according to the chart above, and according to his school, why would he need another Varicella vaccine?

Although  I would never categorize myself as a theorist, it’s moments like that where I do my research, decide on what the best choice is for me, or for my family, and go with it, even if it’s against the grain. I think it’s okay to question the validity of something.  I think it’s okay to do what you feel is right, as long as it doesn’t harm or injure yourself or others around you.

Are YOU a conspiracy theorist? What are some of the theories you have?

 

2 thoughts on “A Glass Half Full Kind Of Gal”

  1. Interesting about the vaccines. Every state has different policies. My older son couldn’t get a cochlear implant when we lived in NJ because he had mild/moderate loss in the left ear that was corrected with a hearing aid. When we moved to MD, there was no problem getting a CI because he has enlarged vestibular aqueduct syndrome (malformation of cochleas which causes fluctuations in hearing).

  2. I never thought about conspiracy theories and optimism/pessimism. But it makes sense. Or perhaps the right word is “suspicion,” of which I am full! Nice spin. 🙂

Leave a Reply

