Why Fuller House Made Me Cry

It was never my intent to get all emo while watching Fuller House. Says the girl who doesn’t cry very often, keeping a stiff upper lip during most emotional moments, especially ones pertaining to the small screen. Or the big screen.

But there I was, blubbering. I don’t mean tiny little drops of wetness in my eyes, nothing misty. I was full on crying, big dopey tears sliding down my cheeks.

It really shook me, that I’d cry over a show I’d watched a lot during my kid years, but had never felt an emotional tie to. Not to say there weren’t a few emotional moments in that first episode. I mean, every actor looked as though they’d found their long lost friends, people who had been instrumental to their lives, like a close-knit family. I could see budding tears on every single one of the original cast members.

No, that wasn’t it.

I had to sit a moment and collect my thoughts, really let myself feel everything, distinguish every emotion.

And what I prominently felt was loss.

I mean, I was just a kid when DJ Tanner was going through her awkward stages in life, or Stephanie let out a “how rude” with the cutest little girly pout. I never really liked the Olsen twins, but I know they added their special zest to the mix. I was a kid, back then, and now, I really felt the loss of my childhood, while watching all of the old characters grown up.

youngsara

Maybe I shouldn’t admit this, but I watched the show a lot. Even when I was a teenager, and I had nothing better to do than to catch up on the latest Full House episode. It felt like a comfortable old hoodie that you pack away, until you want to wear it, for those times you just want to relax and chill out. This show was my comfortable old hoodie.

I went through an anti-Full House phase, too. I think most of us did, especially as we got older and felt we’d outgrown the Tanner clan. It was cheesy, at times corny. There was a laugh track. Every episode ended on a high note. When you’re an angsty teen, you’re not looking for sunshine and roses. I had a friend who hated the show and dubbed it “Full of Shit House”, and even that memory fills me with sweet nostalgia, because we had a lot of fun with that.

No, the show wasn’t perfect, but it was there for me when I needed it. I’m a thirty-seven year old woman who cried while watching Fuller House because everyone has changed, even though they all look great. I mean, Jessie (played by John Stamos) even proclaims it during that first episode, when they’re all sitting around the breakfast table. “Damn, we all still look good!”

I cried because there was so much show nostalgia, so much love, and it reminded me of the little girl with messy hair (me) who’d watch the show, imagining herself right there, with the Tanner family.

I cried because I’ve changed, too, and I’m a grown up, now, too, with big responsibilities and bills and kids and life changes that I never knew about way back then. I guess in some weird bizarre way, that first episode was a little cathartic for me, and I was overcome with so much, all at once.

While watching episode 2, my soon-to-be eleven year old walked into the living room, and decided after a few minutes it was a pretty awesome show, and now he wants to watch Fuller House. I’m sure it’s nice to have someone he can relate to (Jackson, played by Michael Campion) and maybe there’s something about it for him, that feels like a comfortable old hoodie. I like the thought of that.

Even if it makes me get a little misty-eyed.

Fuller House nostalgic moments, and Rolling Stone’s take on the show

Share some of your most loved, or hated moments, of Full House, or Fuller House!

2 thoughts on “Why Fuller House Made Me Cry”

  1. Great post! If you liked it, I’m sure I will too. I got teary-eyed watching the trailer while my husband was making fun of it right next to me.
    I cried during A WALK TO REMEMBER because I didn’t like how much it changed from the book version. How sad is that?!?
    I am excited for some John Stamos eye candy. He still looks amazing for 52!

Leave a Reply

