My Mind is Worth a Thousand Pictures

If you’ve been with me for a few years, you know I’m in good company on Thursdays. Check out this fantastic group of ladies,  giving insight on various topics.  Click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

Melissa read this post, regarding a husband who’d asked his wife to draw what’s on her mind, and this prompted Melissa to ask the rest of us, “what’s on your mind?”

Every week, my family receives an organic fruit/veggie pack from local farmers in a nearby CSA. It’s something I signed us up for shortly after moving to AZ. (If you’re in the East Valley, check it out. It’s awesome, and decently priced!)  My husband picks said pack up every Wednesday from the Farmer’s Market, on his way home from work.  Funnily enough, the couple who runs it lives right next door to us, so hubby has learned a bit about them, a little every week.

Yesterday, the wife asked my husband if I work nights. She assumed so, because when she’s up nights tending to her infant, she notices a light on upstairs in our house.  He told her I don’t, but that I have trouble sleeping a lot of the time, and the light always stays on.

I sleep with a light on because I live with hypnagogic hallucinations, and have since teendom. I see weird things on occasion, and if there are a lot of shadows, the hallucinations can get worse. For some reason, it’s spiders. I’ll see large limbed spiders crawling around on the walls. Or, on rare occasion, I’ll hear a buzzing sound, like a bee. I promise, I’m not crazy.

It’s like having a  nightlight, just like when I was a kid, and it helps. Not to mention waking up in the middle of the night. I do that at least once. Often, I’ll reach over and grab a book. That always helps me conk back out. As long as it’s not something from Stephen King. I’d never read a King book in the hopes of falling asleep.

My mind never shuts down. There’s always so much to think about. I’m sure the lack of sleep in my life ties into that, and the hypnagogic hallucinations, but it’s something I’ve learned to live with for many years. I’ve grown accustomed to it. Just a few of the snippets going on inside my head:

My 5th grader’s impending field trip, in May: He’s going on a long-distance trip with all the other 5th graders from his school. I’m nervous about it. I’ve researched coach buses and how safe they are. There will be teachers and parent helpers with him, so I know he’s in good hands. There were only five spots available for chaperones on his bus, quickly snatched up by other parents, so that option was out. I have to stay home with his little brother, anyway, so it wasn’t an ideal option for me. He’s so excited about it, and I know it’s going to be a wonderful experience for him, but I can’t help feeling a little nervous.

The Flat Stanley Project: A couple of years ago, I participated in a Flat Stanley project for a teacher I met up with on my honeymoon cruise, 2009.  We had a lot of fun with it, and I’m doing it again this year. I am trying to remember to take Stanley with us when we go places. Yesterday, we went to the Riparian Preserve and this weekend, we’re going to the AZ Renaissance Faire. I really like that the students get into the project, color Stanley, and get to learn more about the United States.

At the Riparian Reserve
At the Riparian Preserve

Homeschooling: A big chunk of my Monday-Friday mornings consists of home school, and making sure the little guy is learning, and staying focused. I’m trying to find more flexible ways to engage with him, so he stays interested in what he’s learning.

The gym: This has become a new norm for us. Right after school, the little guy and I race to the gym, to meet his dad. The little guy loves going to the gym, because he gets to play with other kids in the Kids Room. In fact, every day he asks me, “are we going to the gym today?” Usually it’s an hour, tops, but he complains. He wants MORE time. I feel like I’m getting plenty of time. The aches and pains on my body are proof of that!

Writing: I want to finish my book this year. It’s a gigantic goal of mine, so I’m trying to write/edit every day, even if it’s a little bit. I’m going to take a few writing classes at the local community college later this year, too. I am very determined!

Reading: I read, every single day. It’s always on my mind, even if it’s lurking in the background. There’s always a book to read, or review.

Dance Lessons: I need to sign my husband and I up for dance lessons. It’s something we’ve talked about off and on for years, now, and have never done it. He’s sort of put the ball in my court, and we’ve lined up a sitter. I just need to find a class and get it going!

Alice in Wonderland photo shoot: A very talented friend of mine, who does photography here in AZ, has done some really unique things, including fantasy photo shoots, where you come dressed as a character. I did some Alice in Wonderland shots, and my family participated, too. I can’t wait to see the pictures. I don’t wear makeup, so this was a new thing for me, I even wore fake eyelashes! But, it was a lot of fun. I wonder how the photos turned out.

IMG_1462

Misc: This is the laundry list of things, like cooking, cleaning, keeping the kids alive, keeping the pets alive, trying to figure out how to do it all in a day, and never feeling as though twenty-four hours is enough time to get it all done. Maybe one of these days, I’ll learn how to slow my mind down, to where I’ll just zone out, and not think of anything. That sounds like absolute heaven to me!

So, what’s on your mind?

3 thoughts on “My Mind is Worth a Thousand Pictures”

  1. I look forward to seeing the other Alice pictures. Sounds really cool! I had no idea about the hallucinations. This is the second time today that I saw the word hypnagogic. It was also in a book I’m reading. Weird!
    Dance lessons sound fun. We took some before we got married.
    Hope you finish your book. 🙂
    Great post!

  2. I also had no idea about the hallucinations. Sounds like, even without them, your mind would find a way to keep you awake with all the other stuff you have on it!

Leave a Reply

