The Little Known Ambivert

If you’ve been with me for a few years, you know I’m in good company on Thursdays. Check out this fantastic group of ladies,  giving insight on various topics.  Click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

For this week, Denise wanted to know if I’m an extrovert or an introvert. 

In order to accurately (or, somewhat accurately) determine my personality type, I took a short little quiz, on Quiet Revolution. Here was my result:

“AMBIVERT

Based on your responses, you’re an ambivert. That means you fall smack in the middle of the introvert-extrovert spectrum. In many ways, ambiverts have the best of both worlds, able to tap into the strengths of both introverts and extroverts as needed.”

I’ve never heard of an ambivert. For most of my life, you either fit into one category (extrovert) or the other (introvert). So, I decided to read up on what an ambivert truly is. According to Epoch Inspired,  an ambivert can draw from either personality type, given the situation. It’s considered a flexible personality, fluid. Some benefits of this personality type:

Feeling comfortable around new people, or having alone time

Knowing when to be outgoing, or when to be reserved

Doing things alone, cool. Doing things with others, that’s cool, too

I’d have to agree with the results, although I didn’t start out as an ambivert.

When I was young, I was a total extrovert. Very outgoing, preferred the company of others. While I still had a few introverted characteristics,  like spending hours in solitude, reading, or writing, I still would have jumped at the chance to go hang with friends or put myself into a social setting.

This really paid off for many years, when I worked in property management. I was never afraid to talk with strangers, often sizing up their personalities, determining the best way to converse with them, whether they needed someone more boisterous, or someone who was more quiet and professional.

Since staying home with the kiddos, and having a lot less interaction with other adults, I’ve slipped more into the introverted category. It’s harder for me to start up a conversation, and often I’ll find myself quiet in a group of people, especially when it’s people I don’t know very well.

I’ve decided to embrace it. While I may have been more impulsive in the past, now I’m taking my time with my approach to things, slowing down a little, accepting that my personality is changing the older I get, and that it’s probably for the best. I’m sure in the next few years, I’ll have different life experiences that may make me bring out my more extroverted side, and so I may shift a bit, again.

Which totally explains my being an ambivert. I can pull from either side of the spectrum, depending on the situation and what I need.

After Denise picked the topic, she thought it would be interesting if we’d try to determine where our fellow blog grouper’s personalities fall. I’ve only met Tracey in person, once, and given how outgoing she was, I’m going to say she’s an ambivert, bordering more on the extroverted side. Since she’s a fellow reader/writer, I can see her being comfortable spending time alone, but I can also see her comfortable in a large group of people.

For Melissa, I think she’s an ambivert, bordering extroverted tendencies. She’s also a reader/writer. I think she enjoys that time to herself,  but I know she also enjoys spending time with others. I think she does a really good job interacting with people, whether she knows them, or not.

For Denise, I think she’s an ambivert, with introverted qualities. I get the sense that she really enjoys the comforts of people she knows well, vs. hanging out with lots of people in large groups. Yet, given her professional background, I’m sure she’s had to interact with strangers, people she doesn’t know well, and I bet she’s great at it. She’s also a reader/writer, which means she enjoys that solitude.

What about you? Are you an introvert, an extrovert, or do you fall somewhere in the middle?

 

2 thoughts on “The Little Known Ambivert”

  1. You pegged me. I had you pegged as an introvert, probably because I’ve not yet met you and you come across somewhat soft spoken in your writing. Maybe we do morph as our situations change?

Leave a Reply

