Unexpectedly…

If you’ve been with me for a few years, you know I’m in good company on Thursdays. Check out this fantastic group of ladies,  giving insight on various topics.  Click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

For this week’s topic, Denise picked: An unexpected outcome

I tried really hard to narrow things down to just one outcome, but I found all sorts of unexpected events or moments that have happened in my life.

Like that time I married my best friend. I don’t think either of us expected to be together, all things considered. It would have never been a possibility 15 years ago, when we first met.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Discovering how well the little guy took to homeschooling, was a huge unexpected event in my life. I have friends who home school, but it was something I never imagined I’d do with my own kids. It can be hard work, but completely, totally worth it.

One of the first thoughts I’d had in regards to this topic, was the first time the big guy had his flu shot. Not the flu mist, but an actual shot in his arm.  I imagined we’d have a rough go of it, yet he totally surprised me. This year, both boys had to get the shot and they didn’t cry or get upset. I was very proud of them, considering my own innate fear of needles.

When I found out Chance had Feline Immunodeficiency Virus,  I was terrified. I was still living within the preconceived fears I’d been taught years ago in regards to this virus. Now, we know it’s not a death sentence. Cats with FIV can live a long, full life, just like their healthier counterparts. I would have never guessed in a million years he’d have FIV, but it’s okay. It’s just another part to his story.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Exercise was never a friend of mine, back in the day. Now, it’s become a lifeline for me. I never saw myself as the fitness-driven type, but exercise keeps me healthy, and sane, too. Whether I’m running or lifting weights, I feel better, and that’s all that matters to me.

Lastly, I never saw myself as a blogger, or someone who would socially engage on social media. I was dragged kicking and screaming to MySpace, then to Facebook. I’ve got this blog, a Twitter account, Pinterest, etc. I do have a few lines drawn in the sand. I won’t do Snapchat or Instagram. I have to have some limits. I’ve got a few loyal readers here, and I’m at 130+ followers on Twitter, which is pretty amazing, considering I’m not on there as much as I maybe should be. I know that might not be much to some, yet for me, that’s more than I could have ever imagined.

One thought on “Unexpectedly…”

  1. Great post. I draw the line at some social media things too. I never really got into Pinterest and Instagram is a pain to use, although I’ll follow people on there.

Leave a Reply

