The Boy Can Read!

If you’ve been with me for a few years, you know I’m in good company on Thursdays. Check out this fantastic group of ladies,  giving insight on various topics.  After reading my post, click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

It’s Melissa’s turn for this week, and she chose: Tell Us Something Good. It can be about good things that happened in your life or good things you’ve heard about online, from people close to you, etc. Anything goes!

Well, my first thought was:

Now that I’ve grooved out a little this morning, I’ll share a recent development on my youngest boy, who I affectionately refer to as Sweets McGee. Or Trouble, depending on the day.

Shortly before the move to Arizona, I looked into various preschools for Sweets. Nothing was available. Or, if there were openings, there was a hefty monthly fee attached to it. He’s an October baby, which means he didn’t make the kindergarten cut for this year. Which led to my decision to home school Sweets, utilizing the PreK curriculum through A Beka Academy.

As the days, weeks and months have progressed, there have been moments where I’ve questioned my decision, not only from my perspective, but his, too. Maybe I should have let price bygones be price bygones, and sent Sweets to that super expensive preschool. He’d learn how to make quiche in the state-of-the-art kitchen, he’d have a lot more interaction with other kids. Maybe he’d have been a lot happier there than with me.

Maybe I’d be able to make better use of my time with an extra three hours in my day. I didn’t realize how much work preK would be, for the both of us. It’s hard to keep a smile on my face when Sweets tells me he’s bored, or tired. Or doesn’t want to “do school” today. There are days I don’t want to “do school”, either. I have to get creative, trying hard to keep his interest or keep him focused on the various tasks he’s asked to do on a daily basis.

Yes, there are days where we’re both struggling, but I love teaching Sweets. I can see his progression. He’s learning, every single day, and I have a hand in that. It’s an amazing feeling!

He loves books. He’s got a family of book lovers who have encouraged him to read, even when he didn’t know the letters and couldn’t sound anything out. Until now. Here’s the latest progression on Sweets, and I couldn’t be more proud!:

5 thoughts on “The Boy Can Read!”

  1. Very cool! Keep up the great work. 🙂 He’s so cute. I’m trying to get my youngest to learn how to read.
    The radio show I listen to (that inspired the post) plays that song when they do their “something good” segment.

  2. It made me cry!!!!!!! I watched this with the girls, right after they told me how they didn’t ant to do reading today. I told them “see, Nolan is only 4 and he’s reading already!”. They felt so proud of him! As did I!

    Great job Sari. One of the most rewarding things about homeschooling, is that you can see them blossom right in front of your eyes. And to know that you were part of that is truly wonderful!

    Keep up the good work. I’m very proud of you and Nolan! 🙂

    Love you!

    Bu

Leave a Reply

