Where Have I Been All My Blogging Life?

If you’ve been with me for a few years, you know I’m in good company on Thursdays. Check out this fantastic group of ladies,  giving insight on various topics.  After reading my post, click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

For this week, Tracey asked our blog group: How does your blogging differ from when you first started blogging?

I feel like Momarock has come a long way.

Sort of.

When I made the decision to share my thoughts on life with the blogosphere five years ago, I had this mental image in my mind of the topics I’d stick with, and it was strictly fitness. All work outs, all the time, with marathon training tips sprinkled in. I tried very hard to stick with the program, but I discovered there’s a lot more to my life than running shoes and barbells.

I still write about fitness. It’s a passion of mine, and you write what you know. But I’m passionate about books, too. And writing. My family. Health. Nature. I feel a little all over the map with my topics. This is where my “sort of” comment comes into play, because even though I feel I’ve grown a ton as a blogger, I don’t feel concrete in what my blog is about. It’s about a myriad of topics because I’m a jumbled up mix of things. I have to be cool with that.

I’d originally started out with Go Daddy, one of the worst mistakes ever. The formatting wasn’t user friendly, I had to pay for the service, and it looked like shit, to put it bluntly. I was Momma Rock back in those days, changing to Momarock when I’d joined WordPress. Apparently, Momma Rock is a pretty popular name.  It’s fine, though. I wear Momarock like a second skin, now.

I can tell how much I’ve grown as a writer since the very first post, July 5th, 2010. I write with clearer intention and my sentences look a lot better, too. I chalk that up to sharpening my skills through blogging and writing book reviews. The more you practice, the better you’ll get.

I’m still amazed when people read this blog. Or when they tell me that something I’ve written has really helped or given them peace of mind. I still receive comments weekly regarding my cancer scare, from people all over the world who are seeking solace and guidance from others who are going through the same life experiences they are. That’s something that hasn’t changed in the five years I’ve been blogging. I’ve always wanted to help others, and I hope I always have the opportunity to do so.

 

2 thoughts on “Where Have I Been All My Blogging Life?”

Leave a Reply

