Home Movies

If you’ve been with me for a few years, you know I’m in good company on Thursdays. Check out this fantastic group of ladies,  giving insight on various topics.  After reading my post, click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

For this week, Melissa chose the topic: Nostalgia

I’m all about the nostalgia. I’ve got a ton of photo albums and home movies to prove it. I love taking a look back on my life, the simpler times, the not so simple times.

I have photos that represent nearly every facet, past and present. Every important moment in my life. Some photos would probably be best left buried somewhere under piles of misc. crap, never to see the light of day again, but I don’t work that way. I have no regrets, no matter the lousy outcomes or less-than-stellar experiences I’ve had.

youngsara

Lately, it’s fun to see the similarities I share with my boys. For many years, I didn’t see much of myself in my oldest son, yet it’s obvious now just how much we looked and acted alike when I was his age.

My favorite aunt sent some home movies along on a DVD, for my 37th birthday. My 10-year old son sat next to me while we watched my 10-year old self splashing around and behaving a little obnoxiously in my grandparent’s hot tub.

“Who does that person look like?”

I ask my son this question, while he’s trying hard to contain the grin that threatens to erupt onto his face. Nonchalance has never been his strong suit, but it’s cute that he’s trying.

“I don’t know, ” he responds.

“Uh huh.”

In the video, I’m talking a mile a minute, quoting random facts that most normal people could care less about, but were important to me. At one point, my grandmother tells my sister (who is absolutely adorable in the video, by the way) and I that in a few seconds, we’d need to get out of the hot tub. My adolescent response? “Three seconds, One, Two, Three. You mean Three minutes.”

beneight

Totally something my son would say. I mean, seriously. You stick a wig on this kid, and you’ve got a carbon copy of me. Albeit a little cuter, and as much as I hate to admit it, a little cooler, too.

To see the video of my sister and I, click here. And try not to laugh too much.

2 thoughts on “Home Movies”

  1. I’ll need to watch the video later, but it sounds like fun! I love seeing how my kids are like me in some ways. I have old videos, but need a VCR or need to convert them. When I saw my preschool graduation, I looked just like my younger son!
    Great post!

    1. You’ll for sure need to share that video of your preschool graduation!!! I had a friend who converted a lot of home movies for me, from VHS to DVD. But I still have the old tapes, too. I don’t think I could ever get rid of them.

Leave a Reply

