Quit Trying to Make Remakes Happen!

I’ve really missed my Blog Group! If you’ve been with me for a few years, you know I’m in good company on Thursdays. Check out this fantastic group of ladies,  giving insight on various topics.  After reading my post, click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

There are a few things you need to know about me.  When I’ve read a book, or watched a movie, I rarely watch it or read it again. There are exceptions to this rule. Given enough time and distance, I can re-read The Flowers in the Attic (Dollanganger) book series. Just the other day, I felt compelled to watch Girls Just Want to Have Fun, for the 30th time. Sometimes I’ll have an overwhelming urge to re-watch or re-read something, but it’s not often.

I’m not big on sequels, or prequels, either. It’s usually never as good as the first movie, in my humble opinion. Yes, there are exceptions to this rule, too. Where would any of us have been without Lord of the Rings, or The Hunger Games? Star Wars . The sequels are a continuation of an important story. But I hate it when there’s a movie (not Star Wars. Star Wars is THE exception) that has any sequel that goes over III. (You know who you are, certain horror movies, and a movie franchise that rhymes with Socky.)

And the biggest no-no for me, my number one complaint, the thing that really unnerves me to no end?  REMAKES.

Argh.

Melissa (Merry Land Girl) and I have had conversations about this off and on for months now, and see eye to eye. If you want to watch the original, watch the original! If you want to see how bad ass Brandon Lee was in The Crow, watch it. Don’t remake it. (Feels a little blasphemous to me, especially with this particular movie). I don’t care who you get for the remake, it won’t be anywhere near as good as the original.

For this week, Melissa asked: What are FIVE movies that should never, ever, EVER be re-made? (Talk about why for each of them.) Including The Crow, here  are a few movies that hit me right where it hurts, with their remakes:

Dirty Dancing. Seriously? I loved Jennifer Grey as Baby. And come on, who will ever fill Patrick Swayze’s shoes? Anything even remotely attempting to replicate this original would feel shoddy to me.

The Never Ending Story. This one makes me want to cry. It’s one of my all-time favorite movies. I couldn’t wait to share it with my boys. It would make me sick to my stomach to see it tampered with, CGI’ed, the whole nine yards. I feel as though a big part of it’s charm and appeal comes from the nostalgia of it.

Gremlins. Boo.

Jumanji. Double Boo.

Can’t they (networks, movie conglomerates, whoever it is that deems themselves the creative geniuses behind the industry) come up with something unique? Original? Why take something  so fantastic, just as it was, only to twist it, modernize it? It’s a futile attempt.

Well…

I have to admit, there are TWO examples of remakes gone decent that I will recognize. The anomaly. In all honesty, the remake of Sabrina (1995) was pretty damn good. It would have to be, with Harrison Ford and Julia Ormond. Or, Battlestar Galactica. (circa 2004-2009). That was an awesome series.

But for every good remake (few and far between) there are a ton of stinkers. Like, the Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner do over, Guess Who. Or, Planet of the Apes. (I say this with much chagrin; I love Mark Wahlberg).  Lost in Space. Footloose. The Karate Kid.  Arthur.  There are many more on the horizon, and I’m not looking forward to it. This will become my new mantra:

(ironically, The Princess Bride is yet another movie set to be made over. Inconceivable!)

 

 

11 thoughts on “Quit Trying to Make Remakes Happen!”

  1. I wholeheartedly agree. Why re-make something that someone else got right the first time? I fear I am the only member of our blog group who is neutral about “Dirty Dancing” (Saw it. Thought it was ok.) but I don’t want it to be made again. I *do* re-read and re-watch (more the former than the latter), and I don’t want ANYONE to re-write “The Great Gatsby” (I read it every year). But I have seen a trend where people take characters from classic novels and re-create them. Feels like cheating to me. 😉

  2. We are psychic pals for sure with Dirty Dancing and Princess Bride. Who is crazy enough to even attempt remaking TPB? Inigo Montoya will have their heads in a duel! And Westley shall cut off their eyes, noses, and mouths, leaving only their ears….
    Great post!

  3. Remakes, for the most part, are easy money. That’s why movies get remade I think. They already have an established fan base that will see it whether the film is actually good or not. It doesn’t matter to them. Being able to revisit a fictional world they love is fun – even if it’s an awry unfamiliar mess of a world they love, they still want to peak their head in. But, I agree. For the most part, these films don’t turn out. Some of them downright suck lol. Take example, the recent remake of Poltergeist. Watch it. But only watch it to laugh. 😉

    Plus, like you said, there are A TON of other ideas out there! Let’s stop piggybacking off of other ideas and come up with some fresh new ones!

    P.S. You should watch It Follows and The Visit. Both are very fresh ideas and were very good. 🙂

    1. I like the way you think. 🙂 And, I’m fairly certain both movies you’ve listed for me to watch- are from the horror genre. I’m such a wuss. I can’t bring myself to watch horror movies anymore. Which one would be less traumatic for me? lol

  4. Booooo. Booooo. Inconcievable!!!! The movies you listed also happen to be some of my favorites and should not be remade. Jumanji should not be touched. EVER!!!! The Princess Bride, The Goonies… Did you see they’re coming out with yet another Peter Pan version?? Urgh!!! And the whole thing about butchering good books into making them movies. Just stop!!!!! Stop!!! Very seldom they get it to be O. K., but mostly they all suck.

    As far as horror flicks, the last remake I saw was Jason Versus Krugger.. It was a joke! And Poltergeist, I won’t even waste my time. No offense Krystal. Just not worth it.

    Just my two cents. 🙂

Leave a Reply

