Blog Group’s Back, All Right!

I’ve really missed my Blog Group! If you’ve been with me for a few years, you know I’m in good company on Thursdays. Check out this fantastic group of ladies,  giving insight on various topics.  After reading my post, click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

(the inspiration for the title of my post today)

Well, here we are. It’s been a few months since our group decided to go on a hiatus, taking a break over the summer. The last time I blogged with the group, I had just received the shortest haircut of my life! I was stressed out, worrying if the house we were working so hard on would actually sell when we put it on the market, planning a big move from Nebraska to Arizona. It feels like so much has happened in my own life within a small window of time, I couldn’t help but ask my fellow bloggers, “What have you been up to the last few months?” 

The house I was worrying so much about? It sold within four hours. Four! Soon, we were on our way to Arizona. Me. The husband. The two boys. A dog. A cat. And a guinea pig. It feels as though that long drive happened years ago. Has it only been two months?

We’ve spent the summer settling in, getting used to our new surroundings. The house is in order, for the most part. Don’t look in our garage. We’re acclimating to super hot weather, although the past few days have reminded me of Nebraska summers. It’s monsoon season here, so it’s been gray, cloudy, and rainy.

The 10-year old started 5th grade. I know that was a big transition for him, going from a school he’d attended since kindergarten, knowing everyone, to a brand-new school where he didn’t know anyone. By the end of the week he’d made friends, most of them girls. Of course. He says he loves his school, impressed by the size of it and the fact that he has a variety of options during lunch time, when he chooses to partake in hot lunch. They even have an awesome salad bar!

The first day
The first day

I started homeschooling my preschooler. Five days a week, we work roughly 2 1/2- 3 hours on preK curriculum through A Beka Academy. One of my best friends has had her daughters in A Beka for years, and they love it. We love it, too. I didn’t have many options when we moved here initially, since the preschools were either full or three times what we paid for preschool back in Nebraska. The little guy is mastering his letters and numbers, he really enjoys the curriculum and I can work one-on-one with him, preparing him for kindergarten.

Playing with Play-Doh
Playing with Play-Doh
Learning his vowels
Learning his vowels

The weather has been too hot for outdoor play. We’ve had to get creative while we’ve waited out the summer, which reminds me of Nebraska winters. Okay, so, the temperatures are totally different, but the outcome is still the same. You’re holed up inside, with nothing to do while you pray for a change in scenery. When in doubt? Fort it out!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve had a lot more early morning runs. I absolutely love it. I like our neighborhood, I like the multiple running paths and trails I have to choose from. I’ve been venturing out, too. I participated in a yoga class the other night, half a mile from home. Some of the postures were new to me, unique. But, the vibe was still the same. I felt like I was “home”.

We lost our beloved dog, Duke. That was hard on all of us. He was nearing 14 years of age, but we thought we’d have him around a lot longer. He had the youthful spirit of a puppy. I still think he’s sleeping somewhere in a corner, or I expect him to greet me at the door like he used to. That’s the hardest part when you lose a pet. They become part of the family, part of your routine. We miss him a lot.

Duke, Chance and the little guy, 2014
Duke, Chance and the little guy, 2014

We’ve done a lot of exploring, spending family time together on the weekends. We’ve gone for walks, checked out the local parks, visited the Phoenix Children’s Museum, and my husband introduced us to The Chuck Box, an awesome burger joint. It’s been a busy few months, but it’s been well worth it.

Now, I’m going to check out what my fellow bloggers have been up to. I hope you do the same. Welcome back to Thursdays, ladies!

One thought on “Blog Group’s Back, All Right!”

Leave a Reply

