Why I’ve Jumped on the 21 Day Fix Bandwagon

Something happened to me, while driving on the road to fitness and health.

I got derailed.  Multiple times.

It’s happened before. I’m not new to feeling blasé about my workouts, yet I’ve always hopped back on with new-found determination. I somehow pull it out of my ass at the last-minute, and it clicks for me. Getting in that daily workout, filling my body with nutritious foods felt like second nature, every time. But not this time. Not in a long time.

There’s been a lot of upheaval in my world, recently. Months of packing, preparing, traveling, stress and strain. Too many days where it’s been easier to run through a fast food drive-thru then to try to formulate a meal plan, when living out of hotel rooms and a rental home filled to the brim with boxes felt overwhelming and exhaustive. The last thing I want to do is work out, or prepare a healthy meal.

Sure, those are excuses, but they are valid ones.

Only now, I’ve run out of excuses. I’ve been in Arizona a month. Belongings have been put away, for the most part. Being Cancerian, I need to have order and a proper home surrounding me, so putting things in drawers and having a place for everything is a top priority. My oldest son started school already. The youngest is doing a home school preschool program with me (a blog post for another day, believe you me. It’s a good thing.) I naturally wake up around 5:30a.m. every morning, every time I feel the sunshine on my face. I’ve got the time. I can put in the effort.

When an old friend posted her recent success with 21 Day Fix and how she wanted to plan another go around with the program, inviting friends of hers to join along, I jumped at the chance. I signed up, I’ve got the program, and I started it on Monday. Considering I’d been so fit and a professed fitness enthusiast, I thought it would be a piece of cake! It’s only 30 minutes, right?

Well, yeah, it’s 30 minutes, but there’s a lot jammed in there. It’s a great work out! I’m also training for a 5K (something else I want to get back into) later this month, so on a few days a week, I’m combining my runs with my workouts from 21 DF. And, I’m following the meal plan, the portion control 1500-1799 caloric range, to accommodate for my active lifestyle. Well, my recent active lifestyle. I can’t count the last several months, because there really wasn’t any lifestyle.

So, what’s my motivation? I used to think people hopped on a workout bandwagon in order to lose a substantial amount of weight. I’m wrong in that assumption. Every fitness level, every size, every person has a different story, a different reason. For me, I need something to get me back on track. I don’t want to lose weight, not really. I’m sure a few pounds will be lost, but I feel as though I’ve lost my strength! I don’t want to feel weak. When running up the stairs, I don’t want to feel winded! And when I wear my clothes, I want them to fit correctly. That’s the bottom line for me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m already having a tough time with the food aspect. My mentality has always been, “If I eat healthy ALL DAY, I can eat 3 pieces of cake!” Or, “I’m training for a marathon, so it’s okay if I eat crap, because I’ll just burn it off when I run.” And then I’d wonder why I was gaining weight vs. losing it. Or, how really, I’m craving macaroni and cheese, a big fat juicy cheeseburger with all the fixin’s, and more than anything, sweets and cakes and pies. Ice cream. This workout plan has me eating every 2, 2 1/2 hours! I’m not hungry. My body is craving the food that doesn’t give me energy or make me feel good. My stomach is always a mess when I eat a lot of processed garbage, but it doesn’t matter. I’m still craving it!

I just want to get healthy. I really feel 21 Day Fix is the right step, in the right direction, for me. Share your workout secrets! What helps to keep you motivated? 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Why I’ve Jumped on the 21 Day Fix Bandwagon”

  1. Hope the plan works for you. I’ve been doing MyFitnessPal but I get derailed from time to time. Like with all the chocolate and sweets at my grandma’s shiva. I got back on track this week though. I’m pretty much fluctuating around my original goal weight, so it hasn’t gone up or down too much since I got to that point.
    Great post!

    1. Thanks! And, it sounds like you’ve got a handle on things, and you know how to get back on track. Sometimes, I think we all need a little chocolate, and some sweets. 🙂

Leave a Reply

