Arizona Adventures, One 105 Degree Day At a Time…

Damn. Has it always been this hot? 

Once upon a time (over 15 years ago), I lived in Arizona. So, one would assume I’d know what I was getting myself into by moving back. I guess in the grand scheme of things, it’s not too bad. Friends in NE are regaling me with horrific stories of nearly 100-degree temps in the Midwest, lightly seasoned (HA) with some serious humidity like only the Midwest can provide. At least it’s a dry heat in Arizona, am I right?

It makes the 105-degree temps almost doable, but it’s no surprise to me that no one else is outside right now. It’s nearing 1:00pm local time, and there are no sounds of children playing in the streets. It’s an eerie silence I’ve been promised will change once the fall is mercifully here (does Arizona even have a fall season?). In the meantime, the boys and I are following in other Arizonian’s footsteps. We’re hiding indoors, shielding ourselves from the sun.

That’s not to say there aren’t other times of the day worth venturing outside. I ran for the first time since being here, and it was fantastic! And, it was at 6 in the morning. We plan on swimming in the pool right across the street from us. As long as it’s before 10am. Well, maybe 9am, just to be on the safe side. And below are pics from our first full night in Arizona, on the 4th of July (albeit, after the sun had gone way, WAY down):

First night!
First night!
Watching fireworks with friends. Someone pointed out how tan I look, but really, I'm only tan from the shoulders up. The rest of me is Nebraska white.
Watching fireworks with friends. Someone pointed out how tan I look, but really, I’m only tan from the shoulders up. The rest of me is Nebraska white.

4thofjulypics3

Other notable mentions:

The awesome farmer’s market, just down the road from us. It doesn’t open until 5:30pm; we make sure to check it out after the sun has already set. 

Coldstone. My Achilles heel. Enjoyed a delicious ice cream around 8pm. It was still 99 degrees out, but it felt wonderful!

Running errands. It’s all indoors, but I’m not kidding, I got burned going from the vehicle to the store. I make it a point to wear sunscreen on my shoulders/neck/chest every day, now.

My cat thinks moving is exhausting.
My cat thinks moving is exhausting.

The local library. You know I have to find one, wherever I go. It’s smaller than I’m used to, but has a really great selection. Today the boys watched a herpetologist showcase his lizards/snakes for a special children’s presentation. Afterwards, everyone got to pet the reticulated python.

It will cool down soon. I know it will, and in the meantime, we have to find interesting ways to entertain ourselves. Back in NE, I eagerly anticipated the sounds of various birds and wildlife. Those sounds always alerted me to the thawing out of perpetual winter, and the beginnings of a much-needed spring.

I guess here, I’ll know it’s the end of summer by the sweet sounds of children screaming in the streets.

 

 

Leave a Reply

