Mommy Hair?

Hello Thursday! Meet my blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies  who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

For this week’s topic, Melissa chose: “I Can’t.”

According to her directives for this week, this isn’t a self-bashing excersize. She used the example, “I can’t stop eating Oreo’s”. Or, “I can’t wait for the new season of Orange is the New Black.” To be clear here, I absolutely love Oreo’s, especially the Double Stuf kind. And I’ve never seen OITNB, but it’s on my que in Netflix.

For me, I thought about the recent change I’ve made in my life, a physical transformation that every woman faces with a certain amount of trepidation and dare I say it, fear. I sought out the services of a new hair stylist last week, and went for a very bold, very short haircut.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To be fair, I didn’t get the cut I’d wanted, per say. That’s never happened for me, anyway. I go in with a picture, I show the stylist…well, in this scenario, here’s the photo I went in with:

Ginnifer Goodwin

It’s obvious there’s a big difference. My bangs. I wanted longer bangs, and I didn’t receive that. Other than that, though, I am starting to really enjoy the new look. Not to say it hasn’t been a huge adjustment. This is the shortest cut I’ve ever had, so I’ve had to re-learn how to style my hair. What I’ve got going on could easily be designated as a “pixy cut”, and it’s all new to me.

I’ve been met with a lot of positive feedback on my choice to go short. I’ve also been met with some negative connotations on what it means to have short hair. A few people have said, “Oh look, you’ve got mommy hair!” It’s not said in a loving fashion, like having mommy hair is a good thing. No, it’s said in a way that indicates I’ve given up on myself. I’ve let motherhood give me… mommy hair.

I can’t get over the fact that short hair is depicted as mommy hair. I can’t get over it, because it’s simply not true.

Ask me how long it took for me to perfect my hair when it was long. Go ahead, ask me. Most of the time, I’d throw it back into a ponytail, getting the long, scraggly strands out of my face. That takes about a minute. Maybe 30 seconds? It took me no time at all, even after the blow drying process. In my opinion, my mommy hair was my long hair, hands down.

It takes me forever to style this pixy cut. For the first time ever, I’ve had to purchase pomade. Blow drying is a snap; it’s the work afterwards that takes a long time. Short hair likes to stick up in various directions. Lately, I’ve been using that to my advantage and letting it do it’s thing, putting a cute little headband over everything.

Yes, I just said “cute little headband”. That’s the other thing. I feel sexier, cuter, and more confident with short hair. I always have. Long hair feels like a big heavy weight on my head, hiding my face. Making me feel dull and lifeless. I’ve got thin hair, but lots of it. For whatever reason, short hair allows me to feel a little more girly. It’s nice to experience that on occasion, especially while I live in a household with all males (even the pets are males).

And really, who has the right to designate anyone as having “mommy hair”? Like being a mother is a terrible thing in this world. I’m proud to be a mom. My hairstyle choices in life have never been a direct reflection on whether I’ve have children or not. I was rocking the short hair look long before I’d ever been pregnant. And I had long hair while giving birth to both my boys.

I think we’ve each got our own way of perceiving what makes us feel good. For some of us, long hair is a symbol of femininity. That could be what makes us feel sexy. For others, maybe it’s a sleek bob, or as I’m discovering, maybe a pixy cut is the thing to bring out the confident, strong woman lurking inside of you.

Mommy hair. I think that phrase needs to be retired. To quote something my 10-year old son would say, “It’s dumb.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Mommy Hair?”

  1. Fun take on the topic. 🙂 I love your hair. I wear mine short too, but not as short as it was before I met my husband. It’s something I can still work with and style. When it gets too long, it gets all wild and crazy. 🙂

  2. I LOVE your hair! It’s so funny — mine is long now, longer than it’s been in years. A woman at physical therapy complimented it the other day and I told her the only reason it’s long is because I’m lazy! Great post!

Leave a Reply

