You’re the Poet in my Heart

Hello Thursday! Meet my blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies  who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

If you could travel with any band for one week, which band would it be, and why? What sort of experiences do you think you’ll encounter? This can be a band currently in existence or one that is no longer, the sky’s the limit!

The movie Almost Famous inspired this week’s blog topic. I’d seen it on Netflix in recent months, watching it again with a more mature prospective. I think the last time I’d seen it, was when it had first come out in 2000. I was 22.

The gist of the movie: a teenager tours with an up and coming band, writing about his experiences. While watching the movie this go around, at nearly 37, I wondered what it would be like. What if I had the opportunity to hang out with one of my favorite bands?

I had a hard time choosing just one band. I enjoy music. There’s the usual suspects in my pocket, like Nirvana. Anyone who knows me, figures I’d pick them. Or Garbage. I really love Garbage. I know, that sounds silly in a sentence.

No, I decided on a group of very talented musicians, singers, and songwriters. The band I’d been introduced to while listening to my mother’s records as a kid. They’ve sold more than 100 million records worldwide, making them one of the best-selling bands of all time. Inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Received the Brit Award for Outstanding Contribution to Music.

I’m referring to Fleetwood Mac.

Not the Fleetwood Mac of today, though. It would be a once in a lifetime experience, to say the least, if I’d be invited backstage with this amazing group for their latest concert tour but the past is calling me. I want to go back in time, to the music that first drew me in. To Rhiannon, or The Chain.  Or maybe an early 80’s Hold Me.

There are plenty of behind-the-scenes documentaries focusing on FM, but I wish I could have been there, first hand. I’ve always fancied myself a bit of a hippie. I think I would have fit in all right. Were there, or are there female roadies? Maybe I’d be moral support, creating a new version of groupie. Or maybe, just maybe I’d follow in Almost Famous’ footsteps, and write about my experiences with the band, while they’re on their way to becoming one of the most influential bands of all time.

I can’t even begin to imagine the thrill of hearing Sara live for the first time. Stevie wouldn’t be singing exclusively for me, but I’m sure I’d feel like she were. A while back, I’d watched a documentary on Netflix, and John McVie is describing the emotions he feels while listening to Christine McVie (his ex-wife) sing Songbird. He said even now, after all these years, it still brings him to tears. How would that feel, to be in the presence of such talent, devotion and love? It’s pure, and real.

I’m sure there are plenty of stories we don’t know, and will never know. Parties, rubbing shoulders with other celebrities. The high life, and I bet there are plenty of dark times that seem to always plague the rich and famous. The past has made FM who they are today, however daunting it had been.

The most I can ever hope for in reality is a ticket to a FM concert. And listening to my music. And day dreaming.

2 thoughts on “You’re the Poet in my Heart”

  1. Ha — I lol’d when I saw who you chose! Did not see that one coming! I loved Almost Famous, especially the Tiny Dancer scene, so I could clearly picture you with the band. Fun post!

Leave a Reply

