The Devil’s Coach Horse. God Does Have a Sense of Humor.

Hello Thursday! Meet my blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies  who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

For this week, Tracey’s topic: Unimaginable.

You’d think I’d come up with something even remotely philosophical. Deep. Possibly spiritual. With a word like “unimaginable” (which means difficult to imagine or comprehend), the sky’s the limit, am I right?

Well, sure I am. Yet, the first thing that popped into my head was the image of a devil’s coach horse beetle, the nastiest bug that ever lived. It haunts my dreams with a quickness and proficiently that proves to be most alarming.

Seriously. Just posting this photo made me squeamish.

How did I discover one of nature’s little miracles? My son brought home a book from the library, a manual on insects. While he was showing me centipedes and millipedes and all sorts of creepy crawlies (I think that’s what the book was called, Creepy Crawlies) he turned the page and lo and behold, there was the devil’s coach horse. I think I remember closing my eyes and trembling a little when I saw it.

The thing is, I don’t mind bugs. Other than bees and wasps, and gigantic carpenter ants who want to share in your personal space. Seriously, I’m totally cool. But not with that thing.

Thank God I don’t live where they do (Europe). I can’t even imagine anything that looks this creepy living in the same vicinity as me, and I can’t wrap my brain around its existence. Do they really need to look like this?

I’m grimacing right now. I’m truly grimacing.

I need a moment.

 

 

 

One thought on “The Devil’s Coach Horse. God Does Have a Sense of Humor.”

  1. I don’t like any kind of bug. That one definitely looks creepy. I sometimes have nightmares about the freakiest looking bugs ever. I shudder just thinking of those. Great post!

Leave a Reply

