Ghosts

Hello Thursday! Meet my blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies  who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

For this week, Denise picked: Ghosts.

 

Fitting for this time of year.

I used to watch horror flicks religiously as a kid. The all-night benders with friends, stuffing our faces with popcorn and candy corn while screaming in terror when some boogeyman showcased itself on the television. While I’ve steered clear of scary movies as an adult (why give myself nightmares? There’s enough scary shit in the world to keep me up at night) a select few  have never left the recesses of my mind. Whenever October rolls around I’m reminded of the ghosts and goblins of my youth. I figured I’d share a few.

1. The Amityville Horror

Pure evil. Based on a true story, which you know is the absolute worst scary movie to watch. The whole time you’re waiting for the kitchen cupboards to swing open and for blood to ooze from your own living room walls. I made the mistake recently of watching a documentary on Amityville on Netflix. I had to stop it after half an hour.

2. House

Ding dong. You’re dead.

Even as a kid, I thought this movie was complete cheese ball, but it made it more palatable. A horror writer moves into his aunt’s house and gets way more than he bargained for.

3. The Shining

The image of Jack Nicholson is enough to scare the crap out of you, but the story line is even scarier. A haunted hotel. A family snowed in. You do the math. Not to mention it’s a Stephen King classic. “Honey, I’m home!”

4. Candyman

I don’t know if this counts. Technically, Candyman isn’t really a ghost, per say. But he’s scary as hell. My sister and I still talk about Candyman on occasion. Neither of us had the balls to ever, ever say his name in a mirror five times, so maybe in a sense he’s our scary ghost.

5. Stir of Echoes

Talk about a rough calling. The guy never asked to have the ability to communicate with the dead. I have never heard the Rolling Stones’ “Paint it Black” the same way after hearing the song in this movie.

6. Poltergeist

Who didn’t have the fear of being sucked into the television after seeing this movie? The sound of the old woman saying, “Carrie Anne”… now that haunts my nightmares.

7. The Sixth Sense

“I see dead people.”

And if you’ve seen the movie, and the person you’re watching it with hasn’t, don’t ever give away the ending. Do you remember how much of a snafu that was back in the day?

8. The Blair Witch Project

I saw this in the theatre. Not only did it make me extremely nauseated (the camera is very shaky and unsteady), but it scared the shit out of me. You just don’t know what’s going on.

9. Christine

Oh, you know. It’s just the story of a haunted car that falls in love with it’s owner. Totally normal, standard, creepy stuff.

10. Ghostbusters

I know, this isn’t really all that scary, although it was to an 8-year old little girl when she saw it for the first time. To this day, my husband and I will quote from this movie all the time. And sometimes when my kids are being particularly nutty, and they holler, “Mommy”… I retort, “There is no Mommy. Only Zuul!” No, they don’t get it, but that’s okay. I do.

Happy Haunting!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Ghosts”

  1. Fun take on the topic. I’ve seen a few of these. The actress I know from Neo-Futurists is in Stir of Echoes so I just HAD to see it! I loved Sixth Sense and cried at the end. I was freaked out by Ghostbusters as a kid but The Blair Witch Project didn’t even faze me as an adult. I saw Candyman in HS and was scared to look in the mirror afterward.

Leave a Reply

