You Want Speed Racer? Sure, If I Can Have Sex and the City!

Hello Thursday! Meet my blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies  who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

For this week, I chose: What are some of your deal breakers when it comes to relationships/friendships/etc?

I came up with the idea after Melissa shared this article regarding deal breaker movies in a relationship. I thought of the pact my husband and I had made, the one where we wouldn’t purchase movies that both of us hated with a passion. For me, it’s Speed Racer. I had the unfortunate experience of seeing Speed Racer in the theatre. Puke. I like the actors in the movie. Usually that can help a stinkbomb, but not this time. The plot was all over the place, and I felt the directors put in a lot of special effects to try to balance it all out. In retaliation, I dragged my husband kicking and screaming to see Sex and the CityHe was one of three males in the theatre; the other women had most likely made empty promises to get their spouses out of the house. Of course, he hated it.

Months later, while strolling through a Blockbuster video, Speed Racer was poking out from beneath a pile of discounted videos for sale. The pact went into effect. No buying Speed Racer. If he broke our pact, I would have no choice but to purchase Sex and the City, and of course roles would be reversed if I bought my banned movie first.  

We currently own both movies. He cracked first.

On a more serious note, there are definite deal breakers for me in terms of relationships in general. Most people would cite cheating and abuse, and those two things are on my list too. This can apply to friendships as well. I don’t want to be in a relationship with anyone who doesn’t respect me or value me. Catty women who talk about you behind your back or divulge your secrets to others. People who put you down and say terrible things in an attempt to merely be vicious. I’ve had relationships like that in the past and have made every effort to move on. I don’t have the time or the room in my life for that kind of negativity.

If someone is lacking in the sense of humor department, it’s a deal breaker for me. I know we can’t have fun all the time, and there are moments where a stoic response is appropriate. However, I don’t do well with people who have trouble cracking a smile every once in a while. I have a few friends who are more serious, and even they know how to laugh!

I have a hard time with anyone who can’t be tolerant of others. We’re all different and come from various life experiences. Many don’t believe or live the way I choose to, and as long as it doesn’t hurt me (or them) in the process, I let it be. I chalk it up to a difference in opinion. I strive to be respectful. It really bothers me when someone bashes on religious differences, or take issue with another human being because they don’t come from the same social background. I love that the friends I have are all different. They provide me with such an interesting outlook on life because each one bring something unique to the table, and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

So, there you have it. My deal breakers. Now it’s your turn. What are some of your deal breakers? 

 

5 thoughts on “You Want Speed Racer? Sure, If I Can Have Sex and the City!”

  1. You just don’t appreciate the subtle nuances in the cinematic masterpiece that is Speed Racer. I believe the problem lies in the fact that both movies draw off of nostalgia that neither of us share. The difference, though, is that MY movie has ninjas, super-cool racing cars, and a monkey. Your movie has a bunch of whiny, pretentious women. I win.

  2. I am sorry, but I am going to have to side with Mr. Rock on this one. ;-). As to your question, I don’t think I have any “deal breakers”. None that I can list, let alone think of. If I tried to love others on my own power, then I undoubtedly would have many, but with God’s help, I am able to love others with His heart which forgives unconditionally. 🙂

Leave a Reply

