The Compulsory Poses

The competition yoga I’m partaking in (read more about it here) consists of five compulsory poses, and two elective poses for the adult age group. These photos were taken in May while we were on vacation to Chicago.

Standing head to knee (Dandayamana-Janushirasana):

practicing standing head to knee

Standing Bow (Dandayamana-Dhanurasana):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Floor Bow (Dhanurasana):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rabbit (Sasangasana):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stretching:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I can already tell that my flexibility has improved since these photos were taken- more so with the standing postures vs. the floor postures. I took to the standing head to knee pose quickly, yet the others ones are a definite work in progress. I haven’t been able to practice much on my electives, due to an ankle injury. My electives are:

Toe Stand (Padangustasana):

Dwarf Posture (Vamanasana):

Every day feels like a journey for me with yoga. There are some days where I feel as though I’ve totally rocked my poses, yet other days where I struggle and feel as though I’ve slid a few steps behind in my progress. Ultimately, I’m not entering this competition in the hopes of winning awards or accolades. My goal is to improve on my strength, my flexibility (of which I have none after the many years of running) and to improve on my inner self. This will take time and an immense amount of patience, along with a dedication for this craft and I know I will get there in my own time. There really is no rush.

 

One thought on “The Compulsory Poses”

Leave a Reply

