Strength Training At Home, Basement-Style

When I record my daily workouts, I almost always use some stock photo I find online, so my readers get a better idea of what I’ve done and how I’ve done it. I know, it would be better if you see me doing the movements, but often times when we’re dealing with the morning, this is who I have to work with:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHe’s a three-year old genius, but doesn’t know how to work the camera angles just yet. So, unless I can wrangle my husband, or my soon-to-be nine-year old (who takes better photos than my husband does) it’s going to be random photos I find from the interwebs. Here’s what I worked on this morning, and keep in mind: these are workouts I’ve cut from magazines and placed into a binder. This has saved me a ton of money, and what’s nice is, I can fit these workouts in whenever it’s convenient for me. In fact, I did most of the work before the boys were up, and then did a few more after the little guy had his breakfast and was ready for the day. It didn’t take much time at all, and as you can see, he was enjoying himself! You can do these all at once, or break them up. Do more reps, or less reps. Whatever works for you and the time you have in the day.

Squat Jacks: 4 sets at 30 seconds each. I used a 5lb. weight and held that in front of my while jacking, but you can go weightless.

fitbie.com

Hands Off: 30. You start in a crunch position, touching your ankles, then fly out, with arms overhead.

skimble

Squat pass: 3 sets, one minute each. You need a partner for this. We used a 9lb weighted ball. Squat, and pass the ball. Slow first time around, fast the last two.

pryncepality

Hot Potato: 2 sets, 1 minute each: In plank position, pass the ball back and forth.

rollingout

Concentration curls: 3 sets of 15, using 5lb weights

 

sportfitnessadvisor.com

Sumo high pull: 3 sets of 20. I used 5lb weights

ami.fluxconsulting.com

Standing side crunch: 15 on each side, 2 sets

 

fitness.ramp.com

Static squat row: 3 sets of 10

media.homegym-exercises.com

Boat pose twist: 3 sets, 30 seconds each set

Mermaid lift: 3 sets of 30 each leg

janehanisch.files.wordpress.com

Shoulder swirl: 3 sets of 10

pulseos.com

After this, I practiced my competition moves for yoga- someday soon, I’ll have some photos taken so I can chart my progression with the various postures, like standing head to knee, and bow posture. I’m slowly getting there!

 

 

Leave a Reply

