Living Happily Ever After?

Hello Thursday! Meet my blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies  who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

For this week, Denise chose: Is there such a thing as a happy ending?

You know, I think that depends on who you ask. And their take on a happy ending.

I’m not sure why, but I keep coming back to The Neverending Story. Bastian is a precocious, introverted child who is constantly picked on by a few bullies on his way to school. After discovering The Neverending Story book, Bastian’s only job (after living vicariously through the story) is to declare the name he’d give to the beloved Child-like Empress, and only too late does he profess it, screaming it out into the wild winds and rainy, stormy night. Fantasia is destroyed, but the Empress shows Bastian a tiny grain of sand, the only particle left from Fantasia. With his dreams and his wishes, Fantasia can be born again. At the end of the movie, Fantasia has been restored, and Bastian is taking a joy-ride on Falkor, the good luck dragon, hunting down the bully kids and chasing them down. He is utterly full of glee, and it’s the perfect ending to a great movie (it’s one of my faves).

It’s all in the movies. When I was a kid, that last scene made me so happy. Bastian was having his day, his own happy ending, and deservedly so. For the rest of us in the “real world” however, we don’t usually encounter a good-luck dragon to seek redemption with. There’s no one around to clap and cheer for us when something has gone our way, and often, there’s no one standing outside our bedroom window with a boombox on their shoulders, playing a romantic song in an effort to woo us. (Of course, I’m referring to Say Anything…).

No, we’re sort of dealt with whatever comes our way from day to day, and you make the best of it. It might not match up to a perfect happy ending, but you have to create your own happy ending. Which will be full of imperfections and life’s trials and errors. Yesterday, I heard some personal news that shocked the hell out of me. It was unexpected. It wasn’t at all my ideal, and really, I can’t control it. This doesn’t at all fit into what I’d deem my own “happy ending”, or how I’d imagine life should be, but I don’t always have a say in what is thrown my way, and sometimes you really have to just roll with the punches, as they say. Even when the punches sucker punch you in the gut.

I will never be Bastian, since I don’t live in a dream world created by fictional characters in a book. However, I do the best I can with what I’ve got, and even though I’m not entirely sure I believe in happy endings, I do believe in living happy, and working hard at driving away the negativity so that I can enjoy my life as best as I can.

You never know, though. Maybe if I believe hard enough, I’ll receive my very own good-luck dragon.

 

2 thoughts on “Living Happily Ever After?”

  1. I always think of Family Guy when I see that dragon because there was a part when Peter was riding on the dragon and weighing him down. LOL!
    I hope everything is okay. Shoot me an e-mail if you need to talk!
    I am glad we agree about being in control of our happiness. 🙂

  2. I have to agree. Even in movies with happy endings it really isn’t an ending just a breaking off point. We don’t get to see the next 10 years of Cinderella and her Prince Charming discussing chores, kids and marital woes.

    I think the most we (I) can hope for is to reach my death bed at an old age and be able to look back and say yes it was a happy life and the ending is perfect. It’s up to me to write the story of my life and I get to choose how I handle plot twists. =)

Leave a Reply

