The Ebb and Flow of Life

Hello Thursday! Meet my blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies  who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Darwin Shrugged (Denise): Civilized Observations in an Uncivilized World

For this week, Tracey chose: Ebb and Flow.

The first thing that sprung to mind was my yoga class. Something the instructor often cites to her yogis, is the importance of enjoying the experience of today. Not worrying about the past, or the future. She tells us how every day is a different journey. How we may have been able to perform various postures with near perfection the day before, but maybe today we feel off-kilter, and stumble, and fall. It doesn’t matter. Tomorrow will be different because it always is. For me, I feel as though this can apply to so many aspects in my own life. It’s the ebb and flow of our existence. I can only strive to live my days as best as I can, and instead of hoping for the best, just anticipate that it’s going to be a new day, every day, full of whatever may lie in store for me, whatever I choose to seek out. Like the ocean, it recedes and proceeds.

I was also reminded of my experience during childbirth. I know, that’s a strange leap to make, isn’t it? I did a natural birthing class while pregnant with my first son, and I had been instructed to think of the ocean when dealing with contractions. I would imagine the ocean swelling, encompassing the pain I endured during each shift and movement within my belly, and as the ocean receded, it would take the pain with it. Believe it or not, this technique worked! I used it again while going through my 2nd pregnancy, during labor and delivery.

preggobelly-1

I thought about the decisions we choose to make in our lives, in anticipation of what’s around the corner. Opportunities that crop up when you least expect them to, wondering if this will lead you to something better, something you’ve been striving for. Yet, maybe the best opportunities are ones you already engage in, and you don’t even know it. The ebbing of indecision and the flow of opportunities. This is where the instructor’s words of wisdom ring true, for me. Every day truly is a different journey, and with time and patience, you’ll know the right path to choose.

2 thoughts on “The Ebb and Flow of Life”

  1. Beautiful post. I’ve begun trying to take this approach to life, to stop trying to control and just going with the flow and handling whatever comes along as it comes. It’s not easy for me but it’s so, so necessary.

Leave a Reply

