Herbalife: One Woman’s Quest For Better Health

MY NEAR-MIDLIFE SLUMP!
by Tina O’Tool

It’s that time of year again! We bid each other a “Happy New Year” and drag ourselves back to the gym, determining that this year will be different. We intuitively know that summer bodies are shaped in the winter and hope that THIS will be the summer we can walk down the beach in our skivvies, feeling confident in our own skin. Do you actually BELIEVE it’ll be a happy new year and the one where you’ll gain self-confidence? Or is there something that is sabotaging you? As we embark on our new year, I KNOW some of you are resolving to become A BETTER YOU. I know you don’t want to get the same results you’ve gotten before. You don’t want to quit this time. You want to remove the barriers that have blocked your past success. We need to make this year different by setting specific goals and deciding to follow-though on whatever is necessary to obtain them. At 39, I feel like I’ve finally found the keys needed to unlock that illusive door to better health and a tighter, more toned physique. I’d love to share some of them with you today.

Taken last fall
Taken last fall

Having worked out for most of my adult life, I’d increasingly begun to feel something was changing about the quality of the results I was getting. To be clear—I was no longer getting quality results from my workouts and nutritional plan! No one would have called me FAT. But “pleasantly plump” or “pudgy,” yes! I certainly didn’t look like I worked out as much as I did through most of my 20’s and 30’s—especially in my bikini. For someone who consistently ran and who has honestly kept herself in pretty good shape, I was flabbier than you might expect. I thought I should have had visible muscles—the kind that stick out! Surely, the people in magazines couldn’t have been working harder than I was! Still, I could easily conceal THOSE problems under my clothing. The problems that began to plague me in my middle thirties were more difficult to conceal; mid-afternoon tiredness, lack of restful sleep, PMS, muscle cramping after workouts, brain fog, constipation and adult acne. Some of these prevented me from being as active as I wanted to be. I knew I wasn’t depressed. And I didn’t think it was my diet. I was eating very little processed food, if any. In fact, I mainly ate whole foods that were prepared at home! I went to the doctor for blood work to rule out hormone changes and vitamin deficiencies. She said there wasn’t anything detectably wrong with me. Nevertheless, I just didn’t FEEL the same as I did before. I could tell that my body wasn’t working right and I had to do SOMETHING differently. My research on the food we eat in America strongly suggested that we’re no longer getting nearly the amount of nutrition that we THINK we’re getting; GMOs, pesticides and other chemicals have infiltrated our food and we can’t expect the government to do anything about it. We have to be responsible for ourselves! I figured out that THAT must be why I was hungry all the time; my body wasn’t getting some sort of nutrient that it was looking for. I was also sure that some of the food I was eating, which I thought was healthy, had probably been messed with and now deemed unrecognizable to my body, which had begun storing it instead of processing it correctly. A friend told me about Herbalife LAST JANUARY, but I didn’t order it because I wanted to try a bunch of other stuff first. I thought I could do it cheaper or find some other solution to my problems on my own, even though she claimed that Herbalife helped her with a lot of the problems I was experiencing AND many more. SHE lost over 40# without even exercising and looked WAY better in her bikini than I did! I started on Herbalife this past fall as a last resort and have EASILY lost almost 20# of FAT that had collected on my body. Honestly, I didn’t even realize I had that much weight to lose! It came from those extra areas; the little wings that wave when you bid a friend farewell, the double chin, the muffin top that folds over your jeans when you sit down, even fat around my organs, I suppose. I knew about my “problem areas,” and I told myself not to be so self-centered, that it was genetic, that God doesn’t care, etc. But now that those areas are gone and I look like ME, only better, I can see that those things were hindering my confidence and negatively affecting my life! I know that if I hadn’t made a decision to do something differently, I’d probably have a pretty good spare tire going by now! My workouts haven’t changed all that much, but NOW YOU CAN TELL THAT I WORK OUT! MY MUSCLES ARE STARTING TO STICK OUT!

My skin is clearer! My nails are strong and long! My Herbalife health coach explained that these products had essentially pressed my body’s RESET button. In the first week that I was on the Herbalife Core Nutrition regimen, I immediately noticed that I felt fuller longer; energized and ready to take on my day AND my afternoon AND my evening! I wasn’t looking around for sugar and coffee anymore to combat my exhaustion. What’s more, I liked not having to worry about what to eat! The one-month program I’d committed to was laid out for me and all I had to do was eat/drink the stuff and see if it worked! I immediately started sleeping through the night, which helped improve my mood immeasurably! I believe my digestional tract started working better during that very first week! I’m not a scientist and I can’t say I understand how all this works, but I can vouch for the fact that HERBALIFE products DO WORK! I FEEL BETTER! Other people tell me I LOOK BETTER! I’m not heading into 2014 fearing the midlife slump I might have otherwise been encountering as age 40 approaches!

“Tomorrow is the first blank page of a 365 page book.
Write a good one.” -Brad Paisley

The other thing we all intuitively know is that the people who make changes DECIDE to change. If you want to make 2014 different, don’t say, “I hope this year will be different!” That’s like the perpetual alcoholic or drug addict going into treatment saying, “I hope I’ll be able to quit this time.” THAT is the wrong attitude! Those who overcome addictions—be it to drugs or unhealthy foods and eating habits—are those who DECIDE this year will be different! So don’t become the perpetual Resolutionist (did I just coin a new term?!)! COMMIT to the plank challenge your Facebook friend asked you to join and then check in daily!

Walk out the door and sign up for a gym membership! Schedule the teenager next door to come over and babysit your toddler for an hour three times/wk.—every week! Order yourself some Herbalife!  (Shameless plug, but I CAN honestly tell you it’s worked for me!) YOU know what you need to do! REMOVE the barriers that are blocking your success and giving you an excuse to stay where you are, or to go backwards. DECIDE to do something different and do it today! You’ll never regret it!

Tina today
Tina today

Tina is a stay-at-home mom, military wife, fitness enthusiast and a recently-certified Herbalife health and wellness coach. If you have questions regarding Herbalife, please contact her at tinaotool @ gmail .com

Herbalife products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. However,
when the body is getting complete nutrition at the cellular level, amazing results can occur!

Thanks to my friend Tina, for guest blogging today! 

One thought on “Herbalife: One Woman’s Quest For Better Health”

Leave a Reply

