Choosing My Happy- One Step At A Time

Hello Thursday! Meet my blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies  who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

For this week, Tracey chose: Choose Your Happy. She found this saying inside her lululemon bag, and it made her smile.

64355-logo_trans

I thought this was fitting, considering how anti-happy I’ve been, when it comes to fitness- particularly running. My heart hasn’t been in it. I get this way before a big race. When the mileage increases, running becomes an effort. It’s not just for fun anymore. I’m having to really work at it, and the 16 miles I ran recently was incredibly difficult.

The phrase above isn’t “BE HAPPY”, it’s CHOOSE your happy. Pick something that makes you happy, period. I figure that not everything in my life will always make me happy. I have my two beautiful boys, and they don’t always make me happy. Sometimes, they really ________ me (anger, upset, challenge, frustrate) but that doesn’t mean I’ll give up on them. I’m sure that can be said for spouses, significant others, friends, loved ones, or anything else in your life that you truly love, or love to do. You’ll come across roadblocks, bumps, and walls somewhere along the way. Do you continue on, or do you stop?

Aren't they pretty?
Aren’t they pretty?

I’m choosing to be happy. When I’m running, I tell myself how lucky I am to be able to travel great distances on my feet. How grateful I am that I have supportive loves ones who put up with me during training, and are choosing to be happy for me, instead of discouraging. Even when I don’t want to get out of bed, and try to come up with a myriad of excuses on why I shouldn’t run, I know once I’m out there, it will be more than worth it. And even if I don’t do as well in the marathon next month as I had hoped for, none of that will matter, in the end. I’m choosing to be happy, to enjoy my life, and to appreciate the incredible things I get to do in it, and that’s something to celebrate. That makes me happy.

So, what’s your happy?

****

Sunrise yoga, 30 minutes; Cathe’s Boot Camp– 60 minutes

7 thoughts on “Choosing My Happy- One Step At A Time”

  1. I would have to say my garden. Now, I’m not always “happy” per se with what is going on (squash bugs, hail, drought etc.) but I am always happy to be working in it. It is pure joy to plant it, grow it, tend it, harvest it. Tonight’s dinner will consist of marinated cucumbers, fried okra and stuffed bell peppers with all 3 of those veggies straight from my garden. That, to me, is unbridled joy. Nice post, I love it, good luck in your marathon.

    1. I love that! I want to strive to be more focused on my yard, and create a garden like that! I can totally see how this would bring you as you put it, “unbridled joy”! Thank you for your well wishes with the marathon. Crossing fingers! 🙂

  2. I love your honesty here! As an adult, I often times have to do things that don’t make me happy although I would prefer it were the opposite! I feel the same about running too but always tell myself to stick with it. But once the mileage gets up there, it is easy for running to feel like a chore. But, I would say overall, I try to be happy, even if sometimes I have to fake it.

  3. Right now my happy is decorating for Fall and Halloween. I love this time of year. 🙂 This is a great post to keep in mind when you hit those bumps in the road. thanks for sharing.

    ~Lorelai
    Life With Lorelai

Leave a Reply

