Oh Internet, What Have You Done For Me Lately?

Hello Thursday! Meet my blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies  who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Good Vibrations (Jeanette): One woman’s view on love, life, and everything in between.

For this week’s topic, Melissa chose: What would your life be like if the Internet never existed? 

Well, I’d certainly have more time on my hands. I get sucked into the daily online grind, and I feel like a love/hate relationship exists between the Internet and myself. While I enjoy the abilities to e-mail, Facebook, chat online, blog, and check out the latest and the greatest (and sometimes, the not so great), I also yearn for the days pre-Internet. I want to go back to the simpler times when conversations meant picking up a telephone, or meeting someone face-to-face. Anticipation would build while waiting for a love letter in the mail, knowing it would take at least two days if not longer, but it was worth the wait. The news was merely that- the news. No bombardment of website links advertising the indiscretions, indecencies, or horrors created by another human being. Yeah, those were simpler times, and I wish I could go back.

I can still remember the first time I logged onto the Internet. My good friend Shroom (that’s her nickname, it’s a long story) had invited me over, and we hopped onto her desktop computer. Her mom was at work, and we were at play, chatting with random strangers on AOL. I was sixteen, and felt as though a new door to some alternate reality had been opened up before me. I had to walk through it. It was exciting, and so incredibly new.

Nearly two decades later, I’m still here, but I’ve backtracked a bit. I need my e-mail, I need my Facebook and my blog, and there are times I have to hop onto Google and search for something, but I might feel dirty doing it. When I spend too much time on the Internet, I never feel good about it. I hit a threshold, and my ass hurts from sitting for so long. I could never own a Smart phone, because I don’t want to be an Internet addict, and I know for a fact I’d be that person. I equate this to the way I am with ice cream. There’s a reason I don’t have a gallon of Bunny Tracks sitting in my freezer. if I did, the entire gallon would be consumed in one sitting! I’d react the same way if I had the Internet at my disposal 24-7, right in the palm of my hand. I have to set limits for myself, otherwise I am totally out of control.

I know my boys will never know the simplicities that I had growing up. For them, playing games and watching videos on the Ipod or cell phone is common place. Yesterday, I was able to coerce my 8-year-old into playing a board game with me, only after he’d had his allotted time on the computer, watching Minecraft videos on youtube. He didn’t want to be short-changed, and who can blame him? It’s the digital age.

While I enjoy the technological advancements we’ve made, I’ll always cradle the memories of my youth, and I work on steering clear of becoming an Internet junkie. With all that said though, I’ve seen some of the best stuff on-line. A few highlights:

Odd Todd.com: A good friend had introduced me to this, back in the early 2000’s, and I loved it! Mep. And oh yeah, Elf up.

Monkey puts finger in butt, monkey smells finger, monkey falls out of tree: Who can forget this?

Post Secret: My husband and I had a ritual, where we’d look at Post Secret every Sunday morning.

This still makes me crack up!

This too!

And this!

Oh man, let’s face it. I’m screwed.

Now it’s your turn. Where would you be without the Internet, and what can’t you live without?

7 thoughts on “Oh Internet, What Have You Done For Me Lately?”

  1. Wow…my hubby’s job and my blogging both rely on it so much! It would be so weird! We do make sure we do “no screen time” each day with our kids. We only allow the tv and computer to be on certain hours of the day…however, with it being work sometimes things come up and add small portions here or there. lol

  2. I remember those days too and wonder what we spent our time on. This is why I’m SO passionate about getting us outdoors as often as possible, about riding bikes and walking and gardening. It’s way to easy to just kill hours indoors with electronics. And it’s also why I do not text, do not want to text and never ever want a smart phone. Hopefully I can hold out 🙂

      1. You know, that’s what everybody says but maybe because I’ve never done it I don’t miss it. We were riding bikes once and a friend kept texting me. Oh I couldn’t stand it. It kept interrupting what I was doing, LOL. I emailed her later that night and said, I’m not ignoring you and I’d love to talk to you, but I don’t text! So people rarely text me 🙂

  3. I had fun reading your post. 🙂 I love literal videos! The best one is “Daydream Believer” by the Monkees. Just don’t drink anything while you’re watching it so you don’t choke from laughing so hard.
    My kids have become computer addicts too. My younger one could be on it all day and if we make him do something else for so much as 30 minutes, he complains that it’s not fair.
    I thought I’d never own a SmartPhone and a little over 3 months later, I’m hooked. I turned off my notification sounds so I don’t feel pressured to check it all the time. Never say never… *evil grin*

    1. Okay, now I have to check out Daydream Believer! 🙂 Oh, I know, Kevin has already told me how he’s planning to upgrade, and that I’ll get his SmartPhone- but he did say he’ll make sure not to put a ton of apps on my phone, so I’m not too tempted. 😉

Leave a Reply

