Going Back To Cali…Um, I Don’t Think So. Try Oregon.

Any opportunity to insert an LL Cool J song into my post.

I did not go back to Cali this past weekend. I did not grow up surrounded by palm trees and fancy designers. I headed to my hometown of Salem, Oregon for a friend’s wedding, thus the weekly blog topic- it’s Thursday ladies and gents!

Hello Thursday! Meet my blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies  who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Good Vibrations (Jeanette): One woman’s view on love, life, and everything in between.

For this week, I chose: Tell us about your hometown, the place where you grew up.

Pop quiz: What’s the capital of Oregon? If you said Portland, you are incorrect. Don’t pass go, don’t collect $200.

Seriously, you’d be amazed at the number of people who are certain that Portland houses the gold man, but it’s Salem. This is where I grew up.

courtesy of tripadvisor

Let me tell you about last weekend. I flew out for the wedding, and stayed with Grandma for the duration of the trip. She’s awesome, by the way. She’s pushing 80, and still spry.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I discovered plum and pear trees growing in her front yard, and they’ve been there for YEARS. I did not remember. You get used to what you have, and I didn’t appreciate it back in the day. I plum forgot.  I remember Grandma making a lot of plum jam but I never put the 2 + 2 together. She made the jam with her own fruit. How cool is that?

How much do you spend on blackberries in the grocery store? Last I checked, it’s $4 a pint. No need for such tomfoolery in Salem. Everywhere you look, blackberry bushes are growing. Reach on over, and pluck one.That’s how we roll in Salem, yo, and take it from a current Midwesterner; fruit that tasty doesn’t come easy.

Folks around Salem believe in nature. I went for a lovely run at Minto Brown Park, a place I used to frequent as a teenager, but not to engage in exercise. My friends and I would hang out, drinking wine coolers because we thought that made us cool. How tough was I, drinking a Zima? Roughly 20 years later, I’m running an 8-minute mile pace through paths and forest. I passed a multitude of ducks sitting out near the pond, just chillin’. This is the life!

My friend’s wedding was held (where else) outdoors, on her acreage.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThere’s nothing I appreciate more than an outdoor wedding. The weather was lovely (not too hot, not too cold, or humid, or rainy). It was beautiful. I’m so glad I could be there for her, to share in the joyous occasion.

No matter where I’ve lived (Phoenix, San Angelo, Bellevue) I’ll always hold a special place in my heart for my hometown. I have lasting memories, and I’ll always appreciate nature because of what I had surrounding me in my childhood. Not to mention this phenomenal woman:

sis3The lovely lady not making scary faces- that’s my sister. She lives in Salem. We have a motto. If you can’t be strange with your sister, who can you be strange with? We are two women who grew up knowing how to fish, camp, hunt (do lizards count?) and enjoy what nature has to offer us. We are an Oregon bi-product.

And then there’s the three of us:

threeofusFriends since childhood. That’s big-time. Another reason I’ll always love Salem.

****

Did a 60 minute Hatha yoga session this morning (felt so good!); next up: the squat and ab challenge for today, day 29 (almost done!) and this looks like fun. I think I’ll get to work!

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Going Back To Cali…Um, I Don’t Think So. Try Oregon.”

  1. Pingback: Meh. | momarock

Leave a Reply

