The Thank You’s That Go Unsaid….

Hello Thursday! Meet my blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies  who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Good Vibrations (Jeanette): One woman’s view on love, life, and everything in between.

I mentioned this a couple of weeks ago, but we have a new addition to the blog group. Please give a warm welcome to Jeanette, over at Good VibrationsShe’s my BFF and has an insightful perspective on life. Be sure to check out what she has to say, along with the rest of my crew!

For this week’s topic, Tracey chose: Write a thank you note to someone who would least expect it.

Well, I have to cheat, but only a little. Today is my anniversary, and I would be remiss if I didn’t give thanks to my husband, who is an incredible man. He’s smart, sweet, and puts up with me (even when I’m being a huge pain in the ass). His sense of humor is to die for, and even when the chips are down, he pulls out a joke or two that breaks the ice. He supports my endeavors, and is totally cool with the writing bug that’s burrowed under my skin. Thank you baby, for being as awesome as you are. Here’s to many more years of laughter, silliness and pure love.

Our favorite one
Our favorite one

kevsara6***

Dear Evil Stepmother,

How are you? It’s been a long time. I don’t often think about you, but there are moments. When my sons irritate me and push me beyond my parental capabilities, thoughts of you might creep in. I’m reminded of the way you handled me when you were angry, and I don’t ever want to repeat that behavior or pattern with my own children. I’ve known since childhood that I’d strive to be a better parent, and to do the opposite of what you had shown me.

Don’t get me wrong. You made me tough, and durable. I’m a survivor. Now that I’m all grown up, I can better understand why you regarded me the way you did. It was the way you were raised. You grew up mistreated, so it’s natural to do what you were taught.  It’s why I’m able to forgive you, but I will never forget it. I can’t forget it. Forgetting it would mean allowing it to be a part of my own life, and my children’s, and I forbid it. I’ve broken the cycle. I am going to make my boys tough and durable by raising them to be independent, strong, and loving men. They’ll know that respect is a two-way street, meant to be earned, not feared.

In your own way, you’ve shown me how to be a good mother and parent, and I thank you for that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

10 thoughts on “The Thank You’s That Go Unsaid….”

  1. This is such a powerful piece. When people that hurt us are let into our life, it’s hard to fine the positive. You are amazing. I am so sorry you had to go through what you did, but I am so proud of your strength.

    1. Thank you Jen. It’s not often I talk about the past or bring it up, but I decided a long time ago that forgiving may not do much for the other person, but is freeing for me- also, that hiding the truth only means I’m not acknowledging my past, and it’s what has made me who I am today.

  2. I’m glad it made you a better person but I’m sorry you were made to feel the way you did in the past.
    I agree that your husband is awesome. After all, he brought us together!

  3. always good to love a hubs! and i’d write one of those letters, but then i’d have to kill everybody who read it. lol. it would only leave me in trouble! 🙂 but it’s good to know we can overcome and make peace with things from our past, isn’t it?

    1. It certainly is. There was someone else I had in mind to write this letter to- but like you, at the very least I’d have to maim him, so… I decided to go with the safest choice! 🙂

  4. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!! You have the best husband I’ve seen yet! Ya just gotta love that Kev! 🙂

    As for your Step-Mother, you made me laugh with the opening, Sara! It’ like I could hear you saying it out loud. As you know, I was going to do a general ‘thank you’ to the people who have mistreated me in my life for making me a better person and showing me EXACTLY the kind of person I don’t ever want to be, reinforcing all the good in me that I was born to be! There we are, always looking for that silver lining! You could have allowed this person to make you a victim however you prevailed and became the VICTOR! I’ve been very annoyed with some people lately who constantly pull the victim card and not the survivor card! In my experience, the person who plays the victim never takes responsibility for their own actions and it constantly point in the finger at someone else. When you are trapped in that mindset there is no chance for personal growth which allows you to love, live, and be the best person God created you to be! Become BETTER NOT BITTER!!! Ahhh….maybe I just figured out a good tagline? Life is all about overcoming and making peace with things in our past, and those who do not, I spend very little time on or with. If they haven’t figured it out by now, I no longer feel compelled to try to get them to see it. Like Oprah once said, “Either you GET IT, or YOU DON’T” plain and simple!

  5. Awwwww this made me tear up Sari.. I know you’ve gone through so much and yes you have grown to be an amazing woman and even more amazing mother and wife! I am very proud of you for finding a way in your heart to even have written this letter about her. That takes a lot of heart. I love you honey!!!! Great job! Happy Anniversary!!!

Leave a Reply

