I’m Blog Challenged-But Check Out My Tips!

July Blogger Challenge– #18: Share your blogging tips. 

What, me worry?
What, me worry? (crazy laugh ensues)

Blogging tips?

When I decided to join the blogging realm, I knew absolutely nothing. Now, I know a little more than that. (The  noise you just heard? That’s me squeaking by.) The biggest reason (excuse) for me: words. I haven’t focused on the need to improve the blog, yet I’ve tried hard to improve my writing. I’m finally realizing  that the two go hand in hand. If my blog looks nice, and it’s aesthetically pleasing, people will want to come back to it, and if it’s downright ugly, well… the words get lost. Improvements are on the horizon. In just a little over two weeks, I’ve learned a lot more than I have in the two years I’ve been blogging.

If I had to offer up a suggestion for those of you entering the blogging realm, it would be this: enjoy what you write. Don’t feel you have to stick within the confines of one genre or another. Example: If you feel compelled to blog about your family, yet your blog is fitness-themed (speaking from experience), so be it. Your readers might appreciate a change in the view. This is your chance to share yourself with the world. Embrace that!

Check out blogging tips from Southern Mess Mom and Perfectly Imperfect Mom. I found a wealth of knowledge in what they’ve shared today, and I’ll be using these tips for myself in the near future.

***

Workout for today: Got back on the marathon training schedule, completing 6 miles in 60 minutes, give or take a few seconds. 🙂

6 thoughts on “I’m Blog Challenged-But Check Out My Tips!”

  1. Good advice! Even when people say you’re supposed to blog on a schedule or something, I never want to post if I don’t enjoy what I’m writing. I like the clean look of your site, and you definitely have great writing style.

  2. I’m still having a hard time coming up with what to write on a daily basis. It was fun when I first started but I’ve noticed that the more I progress the more difficult it has become. I have to keep up with all the social media and if that wasn’t bad enough, take care of a household with kids and a job while doing it. Don’t know how others do it but I’m thinking blogging in itself deserves a 9-5 pay check. 🙂

    1. Wouldn’t that be nice? 🙂 Usually, I try to blog at least a few times a week, and I know how hard that can be! Like you said, kids/job/household/, and on top of that, we’re expected to come up with something to write about? I don’t know about you, but it’s hard to feel creative when I feel pulled in different directions most of the day!

  3. I agree with Growing Up Madison. I wouldn’t be able to write everyday, I wouldn’t have accepted the challenge. If I blogged everyday I am afraid I’d turn it into more of a diary, and that’s no fun. Nor would it be interesting or thought-provoking. Since I’ve created my blog a few days ago, I’ve noticed my mind is automatically pondering different things and whether or not to blog about them. I like the feeling! The best feeling is to have something to blog about that you feel passionate about, if the passion isn’t there, my blog will show it. Thanks for all the hints you gave me yesterday. I’m trying to implement them now!

    1. I am glad! 🙂 It’s awesome when your creative juices are flowing! Once we know what the blog topic is for Thursday, I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

