Books For Day and Night

I don’t ordinarily write up a book review, unless it’s required of me for Chick Lit Central. However, I feel compelled to write one for two I’ve read recently, and they fall under entirely different genres: chick lit, and psychological thriller.

If you are in the mood to cozy up before bed with a good book, may I suggest A Girl Like You, by Maria Geraci?

A friend loaned this book to me, and I couldn’t put it down!   Emma is brainy, hardworking, and enjoys working as a journalist for a Florida magazine. She knows she’s no beauty queen, but after hearing an acquaintance refer to her as “the ugly friend”, she puts a plan in action to win the heart of her boss, Ben, who she has secretly had a crush on for years. Along the way she develops feelings for an old high school crush, and Emma has discovered that the key to true love lies in accepting yourself for who you are, not for who you think you want to be.

There are a lot of twists and turns when it comes to Emma’s heart- and at the end of the book, I had a big smile on my face. I’ll leave it at that. It’s that good.

Now, this next book shouldn’t be read at night. Not unless you want nightmares. If you are up for a chilling read, give Joe Hill’s NOS4A2 a try.

I made the mistake of bringing this to bed with me, on my e-reader. I couldn’t put it down, so I’d read until the very early hours, and after I was finished, I couldn’t sleep. Images of Charlie Manx and his world, Christmasland, would creep up into my conscience.

Manx is a convicted killer, slayer of dozens of children. He locks them in his mind, taking them to Christmasland, where they will remain forever. The heroine, Vic McQueen, is the only one who can save the day, because she is able to create her own world, and can find things. This includes the children. When it involves her own son, it gets personal.

This book reminded me of a vampiric genre, because Manx steals souls in order to remain young. It’s utterly creepy. There’s only one other author who could engross me as much as Hill has, and that’s Stephen King. Guess what? King is Hill’s father. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

If you are looking for a mix of sweet and horrifying, do yourself a favor and give these books a read.

One thought on “Books For Day and Night”

Leave a Reply

