My Letter To The Binky Fairy

July Blogger Challenge #9: Write a letter.

Dearest Binky Fairy,

I hope this letter finds you well, and in good health.

I would like to request a visit from you within the next week or so, if you are able to fit us into your schedule. It’s time for my youngest son (we’ll call him by his nickname, Sweets McGee) to retire his pacifiers, or what we fondly refer to as “the paci” around here. You’ll find three that are still in good condition, although one may need to be tossed in the garbage. It’s looking a little rough around the edges.

Sweets McGee will be 3 in a few months, and although he’s very reluctant to turn over his most prized possessions, I know you’ll be able to convince him. Really, he’s more than ready, and it’s time. His dentist has confirmed it. The looks we receive from strangers while he sucks away on the thing has been a nudge. He is constantly dropping them onto the floor, and manages to put them back into his mouth before I even have a chance to clean it. If he loses one in the middle of the night and finds it missing from his crib, he won’t let up until someone retrieves it for him. The cherry on top, though, had to be when Sweets decided to put the entire paci in his mouth. Yes, the WHOLE thing.

Please contact me at your earliest convenience, so we can arrange a meeting. I won’t lie- I’m terrified. In fact, I bet the dismissal of my son’s crutch will be harder on me than it is on him, initially. We’ve had such wonderful nights of rest because of his paci. I fear there will be rough nights ahead once you’ve come to take his pacifiers away, but I know it’s the right decision for my son, not only because he’s getting too old to have them but because it’s become a safety concern.

Thank you so much for your time, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Sara

p.s. Seriously, the sooner the better.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

For today’s workout, I’m going to try a routine I found online, and go through it two times. I’m feeling pretty sore today, most likely from the running I’ve picked up recently for training. So, I’ll take it a little easy today. Give this strength training routine a try, and see what you think!

2 thoughts on “My Letter To The Binky Fairy”

Leave a Reply

