Ask Me Anything Revealed!

July Blogger Challenge #8: Reveal your answers.

Yesterday, I asked (in some cases, begged) for friends and random strangers to ask me questions.

Here for your viewing pleasure- are the answers.

Jen asked: 1. I know I am not an athlete/runner, but I do enjoy doing 5Ks, mostly jogging, if they have a fun theme. Ultimately, I would LOVE to do a half. What advice do you have for me?  2. What is your favorite thing about being a mom? 3. What is your favorite fro-yo flavor?

Fantastic questions, Jen!

Running a half marathon is a very exciting experience! The best way to go about it would be to fully prepare yourself for the challenge. I recommend a website like Marathon Rookie , which gets you started from day 1. In fact, I am using their marathon training schedule, and have for every half or full race I’ve trained for. It’s going to take time and dedication, but having a plan in action will help you to reach your goals. If you ever want to run a half in our neck of the woods, let me know. I’d love to train with you!

My favorite thing about being a mom? Right now, it’s watching my two boys interact with each other. Last night, my husband had spied the toddler sitting right on his older brother’s back while watching a movie. They just sat there like that, no one was fighting or bickering. Of course, right when my husband said, “Sara, come check this out!” the moment had passed, and the toddler proceeded to hit his older brother on the head, and a fight broke out. You can really feel the love between those two.

I know, we need to meet up for some fro-yo! I am a simple bird. I prefer vanilla with fresh strawberries and raspberries, although when I am feeling naughty, I’ll sprinkle my frozen yogurt with peanut butter cups. There’s nothing better!

Joanna asked: When did you get into running? Have you been a lifelong runner, or did something inspire you to get started? Do you have any advice for getting back into running postpartum?

Thank you for asking, Joanna. When I first stepped foot on a treadmill, I wanted to die. This was 2006, and after five minutes I really felt as though the life was being sucked out of me. I had always assumed that people who ran were either crazy, or running from someone/something that was crazy. I stuck with it though, and it was gradual. A friend of mine who had a lot of marathons under her belt had convinced me to go for a run with her one morning. We ran 9 miles! I had no idea! I figured if I could accomplish that, why couldn’t I attempt a half marathon, which was just a few miles more? I ran my first half in 2009. I ran my first full in 2011, a year after my youngest was born. It was an amazing accomplishment. What inspired me to get started was my health. I was overweight, and I just didn’t feel good. I was willing to try something new, to see if it would stick, and it did.

While I was pregnant (and afterwards) I had a fantastic book, called Buff Moms to Be, by Sue Fleming. There are work outs as well as photos of the work outs in this book, and a great section on postpartum, and when to get back into the swing of things. As with training, I highly recommend making it a gradual process. It’s rough, but taking your time will help you much more than rushing back in, which can only injure your body. It took me a good 8 months after both pregnancies to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight.

Amanda asked: What do you tell yourself when you look in the mirror?

This question made me laugh, and here’s why: to be honest, I don’t really “tell” myself anything, but I do something very odd when I am “primping” in the mirror. I don’t even realize I’m doing it, but my husband has pointed it out to me. I do this strange pouting thing with my lips. It’s almost as if I’m posing in the mirror, if you can even call it that. It’s quite embarrassing, but it’s just a strange quirk about me. Strike a pose!

Del and BreAnne asked: What is your favorite Stephen King novel? BreAnne also asked: Are you watching the show Under the Dome?

This is a tough one! I’d have to say my absolute favorite is The Stand. I couldn’t put it down when I first read it roughly 20 years ago. As for Under the Dome, I haven’t been watching it because I have a hard time when I’ve read a King book, and then I watch the movies or shows based off the book. They are never as good. The only movies that challenge that is Shawshank Redemption, Stand By Me, and The Green Mile.

Sara asked: What would you say is your greatest strength and your greatest weakness? And how do these two things influence your life and the lives of those around you?

I would say my greatest strength is my optimism. It takes a lot for me to look away from the silver lining of a situation. My greatest weakness is the need for control in my life. It at times can make me feel trapped within the confines of my own rules and guidelines I’ve set forth for myself, and no one can control a situation 100% of the time. I feel as though these control issues can and will extend out around me, and it can have an effect on my loved ones. At times, I’m sure they feel “controlled” or as though they have to do things a certain way in order to keep me happy. My husband has a saying: “Happy wife, happy life”. I have noticed when I’m down in the dumps, the rest of my family follows suit. We have a bad day, vs. looking on to the day with optimism and happiness. There is a definite change within my world.

Kevin asked: How do you feel about your newly- discovered geekiness?

One of my birthday gifts this year from my husband was this Team Maki shirt:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

We were watching a show off of Penny Arcade’s website, Strip Search. Maki is one of the contestants from the show, and he was wearing this shirt during the final elimination round. The thing is, I’ve never realized how geeky I am. I wouldn’t say I’m at my husband’s level, but I have similar interests. I loved Firefly and Battlestar Galactica.  So much so, that I had to watch multiple episodes and nearly freaked out when I discovered that there were no more Firefly episodes, and that I’d have to wait to watch more of Battlestar when it had originally come out on DVD. My husband has been trying to get me to play Dungeons and Dragons with him- and I’m actually interested in playing! He shows me various comics and jokes he’s seen online, and I think they are funny. Now, if only this shirt came with pineapple Maki on the back. All would be right with the world.

4 thoughts on “Ask Me Anything Revealed!”

  1. I wish I could like all of the paragraphs. Marathon Rookie is the first site I followed and learned about running thanks to you dear friend. The mirror question….LOVE IT! I’ve heard about the lip pucker before; we gotta talk about the geekiness. I too am bringing my love of science back. Awesome article as usual ❤

Leave a Reply

