A Twofer: A Little Chicken Soup For the Soul, A Lot of Reflection

I’ve been on vacation this past week, so I had very limited internet access and was unable to do my usual Thursday routine. However, I’m back to the comforts of home (and high speed internet), so today will be a two for one deal. I will tackle both topics as best as I can, catching myself up.

It’s Thursday. You know what that means. Please check out my weekly blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

Last Thursday, Melissa’s topic choice: share a “Chicken Soup for the Soul” story that either happened to you personally or you witnessed.

Whenever I image a “Chicken Soup” story, I think of my first boyfriend’s mother. I can’t remember her name, but I will never forget her. I was a wayward teen at the age of 16, when I first met her. She was a beautiful woman, who had this amazing light that shone from her eyes. There have only been a few people in my life where I’ve witnessed that light, and hers was the most profound to me. I remember feeling very nervous and awkward when we shook hands, yet she smiled at me and put me at ease. I was her son’s first real girlfriend, and he was the baby of the family, and you’d assume that would mean chaos. Most moms are seriously wrapped up in their youngest children, and the boys often become “Mama’s boys”, but it wasn’t the case with this mom. She was always nice to me, even buying me Christmas presents and birthday gifts.

I was invited to attend church with the both of them one day, and I reluctantly went. My family hadn’t been big church goers when I was growing up, and so I wasn’t sure what to expect. There was a call for prayers, and she moved from her seat next to mine, walking slowly forward to the front of the church, and others moved out of their seats and also walked to the front. They placed their hands onto her, and started praying feverishly and with conviction, and I was completely confused. I asked my boyfriend what was going on, and his eyes were wet as he told me his mother had recently found out she had breast cancer. The attendees were praying for her, praying for her recovery and her health. I sat in awe while I watched the scene in front of me, moved beyond what any words could describe.

When she went in for her next check up, the doctors had informed her that the cancer was GONE. There was no sign of it. It was one of those situations that I’m sure could be easily explained by modern medicine, but I knew deep in my heart I had witnessed a miracle that day, in the church. I had felt it just as strongly as if I’d been one of the prayer warriors placing my hand onto her. There were more years of good health, and she spent time with me even after her son and I broke up. She would invite me for lunches, or to go on shopping adventures. One time we went driving to meet her son at college, and I remember listening to Sheryl Crow’s “Every Day Is A Winding Road” in the car while we drove with the windows down, enjoying the beautiful day. Some time after that, her cancer had returned, and unfortunately she passed away. I remember feeling incredibly angry with God when her son called me up, telling me the news. How could He grant one miracle and then take it away? It’s taken me a long time to come to terms with the fact that none of us really know why things happen the way they do, but I know the extra time she was given did so much for me, as I’m sure it did for everyone else her life had touched. She truly was remarkable, and I am so glad I got to know her.

This Thursday’s topic choice comes from Susanna: When you stop looking for something you often find it. Is this something that has been true in you life?

In a word, ALWAYS.

I’m one of those people who actively works hard for something, and I need to always have a game plan in place. When the game plan has been removed from me, I feel lost. Yet, when I calm myself and stop trying so hard, and stop looking so desperately to try and control what’s around me, is when the answer reveals itself to me. It’s that old adage that a watched pot never boils, and if you keep trying too hard for something, it won’t reveal itself to you.

This was also the case in my love life. It always seemed when one door closed on a relationship, and I would say, “All right, time to be alone for a while” is when another relationship peeped it’s head in the door. I wouldn’t go looking for it, it would always find me, somehow.

This also applies to inanimate objects. Keys. My cell phone, especially. I get lucky, and someone will call me, so I can hear the phone ringing. When you have little ones running around, they often find good use out of your stuff, thinking they are toys, so this one always seems to apply to me.

I do believe that there are many moments in life where you should just relax, and go with the flow. I don’t always do this, but I do believe in it. Like most everyone, I don’t always practice what I preach.

One thought on “A Twofer: A Little Chicken Soup For the Soul, A Lot of Reflection”

  1. Your ex-boyfriend’s mother sounds really special. Sorry to hear she passed away. I got along really well with my ex-bf’s mother when we were dating and that relationship got severed when I broke up with him. The last time I saw her was when I visited him in the hospital (after we had broken up and he had a major health scare) and I think I was more sad about never seeing her again than I was about anything to do with him.

Leave a Reply

