It’s The Legacy You Leave Behind

It’s Thursday. You know what that means. Please check out my weekly blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

It was my turn this week, and with Memorial Day just a few days behind us, I chose: Memorial Day was originally a day to remember those who served in the military, but has expanded to include anyone whose lives touched ours in some way. It’s a day of remembrance. Who did you remember on Memorial Day?

I think I jumped the gun on this. I completed a post on the 28th: https://momarock.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/memorial-day-a-life-captured-in-pictures/

In it, I talk about a few people I remembered on Memorial Day.

However, this doesn’t mean I’m fresh out of thoughts or ideas. In fact, what I am often reminded of when I think about our loved ones who have passed is something Jill’s pastor had said at her funeral. He poignantly stated to all in attendance that we have a legacy, and even when we pass on, this doesn’t mean our legacy dies. It lies within those we leave behind. While he spoke of Jill’s legacy, I realized just how true it is. We will live on, and it’s up to us to decide what sort of tracks we leave, or should I say “imprints” we embed into others.

I’d like to think that when I’m gone, my children will always remember how much I loved them, and that I chose to put my family as a number one priority in my life. I hope that in their own grown-up world, that they will also make that choice when it comes to their families. I want my loved ones to remember how much I enjoyed life, and even if they are sad that I am gone, they can laugh a little when they are reminded of my silliness and humor. Health is very important to me, and I intend to pass that on to everyone who knows me. I think that is an important legacy to bestow onto someone, no matter the circumstances.

My 8 year old brought home a bunch of stuff from school the other day. It was his last day of 2nd grade, and they always clean out their desks and send the excess home. He had a notebook filled with writing paper, and on the last page, he wrote about how much he loved creating stories. Reading that made me feel good, because I feel a kindred spirit with my kid in that regard. When I read the next sentence though, my eyes nearly filled with tears. He said “my mom writes stories too a lot, and she likes to write like I do.” I never even realized that he paid attention to the fact that I wrote, even though I had mentioned it to him before. He and I never talk much about it, but he was sharing that.

What sort of legacy are you creating for yourself, as well as for those around you?

One thought on “It’s The Legacy You Leave Behind”

Leave a Reply

