When Injuries Derail Your Life

It’s Thursday. You know what that means. Please check out my weekly blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week, Susanna picked: Injuries. Have you ever had an injury stop you from doing something you really wanted to do? How did you deal with that?

One of the ladies from the blog group suggested writing about my recent weekend illness; I couldn’t make my son’s birthday party (read about my troubles here). Granted, it wasn’t an injury, but it definitely was debilitating!

The first time an injury altered my life in a major way was when I was 16. I decided to jump 10 feet down into an alley way, breaking my right foot and altering the time frame for when I could obtain my driver’s license. Looking back, this wasn’t a tragedy. When you are a teen though, being able to drive a car is EVERYTHING. I was completely devastated and very frustrated. The only way to deal with it was to heal, and to give my foot the time it needed. 4 weeks later, I was out of the cast.

An ongoing injury I have to deal with from time to time is a screwed up tailbone. Someone tripped me while roller skating when I was a teen, and I’ve had issues ever since. It’s not constant, and I never know when I’ll have a flare up. Going for long bike rides is out for me, because it always causes me severe pain in the lower back area. One time while merely getting out of a chair, I felt a twinge and I couldn’t stand up straight, I was in so much pain. The most recent was during a work out class at my gym. I moved a certain way, and I felt the twinge in my lower back.  Pain laced down into my butt and legs. Yet these instances are few and far between. I ice my lower back, rest, use ibuprofin, and try to stretch out the area as best I can, again giving my body the time it needs to rest.

While I was pregnant with my 2nd child, I fully intended to keep up a work out routine, attempting to stay in great prenatal shape. At 11 weeks, I started spotting. This never happened with my 1st pregnancy, and I was terrified. It turns out I had something called subchorionic hematoma, which is a gathering of blood between the membranes of the placenta and the uterus. It was small, and my doctor assured me everything was fine, yet I was placed on modified bed rest and could not exercise until the bleeding stopped completely, which didn’t happen until my 16th week of pregnancy. I did not miss exercise at all during that time, because I wouldn’t want to do anything that could potentially harm my child. I was able to get back into the swing of things, but I was very careful regarding the intensity of my work outs.

There is a common theme here, with injuries. The best thing is to rest, and allow your body the time it needs to heal. Yes, it’s hard to do. I won’t lie; after having a tailbone flare up that left me barely able to walk, I popped enough ibuprofin to allow me to run a half marathon a mere day after the initial flare up. It’s not something I would recommend others to do, or even something I’d do again, given the choice to do it over. Often times we push ourselves to the breaking point, only causing more injuries that will take even longer to heal from.

I’ve sought out medical attention in the past, although I haven’t gotten very far in that arena. Usually more drugs are thrown at me to aid the symptoms but not to fix the issues. I’ve also gone to physical therapy, which has helped a little. What has helped me the most is massage therapy, and regular visits to a local yoga studio. These techniques may not work for others; it’s what has worked for me. Seek out what works best for you- and remember, it’s OK to rest and let your body heal.

One thought on “When Injuries Derail Your Life”

Leave a Reply

