My Guilty Reading Pleasures

It’s Thursday. You know what that means. Please check out my weekly blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

Melissa chose for this week’s topic: Magazines. Open-ended, anything goes.

I immediately thought of my shameful secret.

I love trash mags.

Now, before you scoff and shake your heads in annoyance (unless you are also a closeted trash mag reader, which there are more of you out there than you’d care to admit to) hear me out, please. I’m an avid reader. I love the classics, I love chick lit, I love the King (as in Stephen) and fantasy fiction has become a new favorite of mine (The Hollows series from Kim Harrison is a pleasure). I love mostly everything, I love reading that much. Sometimes though, my mind needs a breather. I’ve got a lot on my plate, and when my mind feels like it’s on overload, will I reach for Tolstoy, or will I reach for People?

I can read People magazine. Us Weekly. Lucky. This next one makes me a little squeamish to own up to, but Star magazine has made it’s way into my grocery cart a time or two. Whenever I place the rag onto the conveyor belt, I always glance up at the attending clerk, wondering if they saw me and wondering if they are judging me. Have I been categorized as “one of those women”, the ones who stay home all day, watching soap operas and eating bon-bons? The ones who cling onto every thread of celebrity gossip they can as though they are sucking in their last breath.  Star magazine has a fantastic crossword puzzle towards the back, and sometimes I’ve cited that THIS is the reason I’ve made the purchase, for the chance to work an over 200-word crossword puzzle. I do enjoy the puzzle, but I also enjoy the rest of the material inside the back and front covers.

Life is just too serious sometimes! Who doesn’t want to turn their brains off for a moment and read about what other people are dealing with, famous people, people that you most likely will never meet or have to deal with? It’s not an often occurence for me, but I just need the break. I need to read something that won’t cause me to get more caught up or emotionally invested in something, as I often do while reading an impressive novel or page turner. I just want to be idle on occasion, and those magazines allow me the opportunity to do that. If this kills a few brain cells, so be it.

And now that my shameful secret has crawled it’s way out like the proverbial cat in the bag, are any of you closeted trash mag readers, and if you are, what do you enjoy reading? Maybe it’s one I haven’t read yet. I’m always willing to try new things (or in this case, read new things). If you need to, you can use a pseudo name, so no one will know who you really are.

4 thoughts on “My Guilty Reading Pleasures”

  1. US Weekly holds the trash mag title for me. I used to never want to deal with celebrity gossip, but US Weekly is amusing in some ways and doesn’t take much thought to go through.

  2. Last weekend I got a pedicure and they offered me a few of these mags to read. At first I was all, “That’s ok, I have my book.” Then I overheard the girls who work there talking about what was in them. That’s when I said, “Screw my book. Can I see?” Agreed! Sometimes you just need thoughtless entertainment!

Leave a Reply

