My Prized Possessions

It’s Thursday. You know what that means. Please check out my weekly blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

It was my turn to pick the topic this week, and having Mr. Teddy on my dresser the past couple of weeks prompted me to come up with: Talk about some of the items you have in your possession that you’ve had for a really long time. They can be heirlooms, or other priceless treasures of yours that you’ve held onto.

I was 10 when Mr. Teddy fell into my life. I say fell, because I opened up the Christmas box upside down that afternoon, and he tumbled out and onto my lap. I fell in love immediately. He was so soft and squishy, and was very cute. I had never been the kind of kid to sleep with stuffed animals or anything, but I thought he made a great addition to my collection of teddy bears and what not. He sat on my dresser for years, and even as an adult he ended up wherever I did. Mr. Teddy had been in my 8 year old’s bedroom for almost a decade, until I noticed he was shoved aside in a corner somewhere, and I couldn’t bear to see that. I dusted him off a bit and he’s now sitting in my bedroom. Yes, I am a grown woman; I’ll be 35 in a couple of months, and I have a stuffed animal in my bedroom. So what?

At the ripe old age of 25
At the ripe old age of 25

When I was 14, my grandmother had asked me if I’d like her old china. She had used the Franciscan Desert Rose set for as long as I could remember, and the decision was made to replace everything with more durable plateware. Of course, I said yes, and the two of us went to work packing up everything into big cardboard boxes, taking great care to wrap them up in newspaper. I wrote on the boxes: “Not to be opened until I am 18!” or “Open these when I get my own place to live!” I never saw them again until many years later, when I was in my early 20’s. I really love my China, not only because it’s pretty (and one of the few girly things I own) but because it reminds me of my childhood, and my grandmother. I have some pieces that are missing, and discovered that the set is worth some money, depending on the pieces. Also, I have the original set, not the updated replicated set that was created years later than when my grandmother bought her pieces in the 1940’s.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lastly, I’m going to include something that’s near and dear to my husband’s heart- a ceramic tiger that was passed on to him by his favorite Aunt Madge. He told me he used to climb all over this tiger as a kid, and we have it prominently displayed in our living room. I’m assuming it’s pretty old, but don’t know much more about it than that. I like to dress the tiger up for Halloween by placing a bone in it’s mouth, or wrapping a garland around it’s neck for Christmas, which isn’t at all strange, right?

tiger

One thought on “My Prized Possessions”

  1. I enjoyed reading this post! Too funny about the tiger. 🙂 My daughter has some of my stuffed animals from my youth, like my Fluppy dog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

