Tiptoe Through The Tulips….

I know at times I seem to flit from one paradigm to another when it comes to my blog posts. I have tried to stay on the straight and narrow with topics pertaining strictly to fitness, but I can’t do it. I won’t write about squats and push-ups day in and day out because it’s not what I’m doing all the time. There are other things that encompass my mind, and what’s on my mind should be the topic here. What’s been dwelling on me day in and day out  has been gardening and yard work. 

I am betting that a lot of you enjoy gardening and yard work. I do not. I lived in apartments most of my childhood, and although my grandparents grew an impressive garden in their back yard, I was never coerced into pulling weeds or planting anything. Maybe they could see the potential risks and hazards when I’d go tromping into the cucumber or tomato plants. I can hear “Bad to the Bone” playing right now as the bell pepper and artichokes would cower and pretend to be withered. I was all about the eating, and I knew nothing about the growing aspect of plant life. I’m not a total idiot, however.  I have house plants, and one in particular has lived over a decade under my care and supervision. I’ve nicknamed him “ugly plant”, because there was a period where he really wasn’t looking healthy or well, yet somehow he bounced back. I have planted flowers in pots and tried my hand at transplanting small things like marigolds (which they claim are hearty plants) into our yard, but for these types of plants it’s always the same result. Death by amateurism. 

Ugly plant
Ugly plant

When we bought our home in 2009, I was in love with our yard. I wish I had a picture so you could see just how gorgeous it was. I didn’t know though how tedious the work would be,  and over the past few years we’ve had to deal with some nasty ass weeds that have grown in and grow into our precious flowers and landscaping. We get weeds with thorns, we get the creeping vines that like to snake around our flowers and try to strangle them. During the warmer months I am out there daily, pulling weeds and doing what I can, but it’s never enough, and eventually my limited resources and knowledge get the best of me. Another year beat out by plant life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
After a long winter (and a mole or two)

I want to get tough this year. I want to have a beautiful yard again. No, I didn’t grow up with those aspirations, but I know what sort of potential my yard has. I am ready and willing to put in the hard work, even though I don’t have much of a clue as to where to start or how to go about it. If anyone reading this has pointers or tips, I’d love to hear them, because I am serious about this. I will take a look at websites and try to find something that will help a newbie like me in the meantime, and my goal for now is to go out there and pull weeds and crap, while my husband has been thatching and getting our grass ready for fertilizer and seed. 

I have heard how gardening can be a work out. I’m ready to put that to the test!

My son in a tree in our backyard
My son in a tree in our backyard
Leave a Reply

