The Happiest Place On Earth?

It’s Thursday. You know what that means. Please check out my weekly blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week’s topic, Susanna chose: Talk about your first trip to Disney. What was your favorite ride? Is it still your favorite ride?

Oh my. You know, it’s been YEARS since I’ve been to Disneyland. I’ve never been to Disneyworld. I’d love to take my boys there someday, but we are waiting on the little guy to get a little bit older, so he’ll remember his trip to the Happiest Place on Earth.

As for my own trip? The first (and only time) I’ve ever gone to Disneyland was for my honeymoon after marrying husband #1. We lived in Arizona at the time, and decided it would be the best way to ring in our new union. I wish I could say I remember a lot about that trip, but I really don’t. Maybe that’s for the best, in the long run. My first marriage was so long ago, there are many times I feel as though it was all a dream, it seems so surreal. I do remember we stayed in a hotel across from one of the many entrances into the park. It was nothing fancy. We were on the first floor, and for some strange reason I remember seeing the movie “Defending Your Life” with Al Brooks; it was playing on HBO in our hotel room. I still have a blue Disneyland sweatshirt that I bought as a memento. I don’t wear it very often, but it’s folded neatly (total lie. Not neatly at all) in my dresser drawer. I also have my Princess hat. That was something my ex would call me on occasion, since my name means Princess, and I’m sure it was a term of endearment. Usually when he was pissed at me, he’d call me “sweetheart” through clenched teeth, and since I can be hard to deal with from time to time, I am sure he called me Sweetheart a lot more than he called me Princess.

My hat
My hat

I don’t remember the rides much at all. Of course, we had to check out “It’s a Small World After All”, because that’s just synonymous with Disney. I also remember going to the Princess castle, or what I think was the Princess castle. This was back in 2000, so I am really trying hard to get this right. We watched a fireworks display, too. I would have to say my favorite ride (because I remember it the best) would be the Pirates of the Caribbean ride. I really liked it a lot, and I thought they had done a great job with the animatronics.

I really wish I could recall more, but usually with memories, I focus more on the feelings aspect, and I don’t have anything but good feelings about that trip. I am glad I can look back on it fondly, regardless of the outcome.

One thought on “The Happiest Place On Earth?”

Leave a Reply

