What I’ve Learned In 7 Days

Monday- April 8th: SHIT HAPPENS, AND OFTEN TIMES YOU’LL STEP IN IT

What started out as a job opportunity quickly turned sour. I had to smile and put on a happy face while I was rejected and felt dejected, all within the span of roughly 5 minutes. I had the support of someone who had always seemed to be in my corner, up until the very last minute. Hard pill to swallow.

Tuesday- April 9th: IF YOU ALLOW YOURSELF TO WALLOW IN SELF-PITY, YOU WILL WALLOW, BIG TIME. 

So, imagine you have been working hard for something. It could be anything. You are given the green light to obtain and achieve that certain something, and then someone who has to power to say yay or nay, chooses to say nay. And there isn’t a damn thing you can do about it. That was my Tuesday. I was very  sad. I felt a lot of self-pity and I allowed doubt to creep in. Is this really what I want to do? Should I change my mind? Maybe I should just give this up. Am I meant for this?

Wednesday- April 10th: YOU HAVE BETTER FRIENDS (AND FAMILY) THAN YOU HAVE EVER REALIZED.

I know I wasn’t fun to be around, on Wednesday. Friends have listened and given great advice (one friend in particular- sorry you got such an earful this past week). My dad was furious over my situation, God love him.  My husband was a huge support system. I was starting to feel a little better, after he told me to “stop moping and GET OVER IT.” I needed to hear that.

Thursday, April 11th: YOU CAN’T LET OTHERS CONTROL HOW YOU FEEL OR WHAT YOU DO WITH YOU LIFE.

By Thursday, I was starting to feel better. I knew I still wanted to pursue my passions in life, and I wasn’t about to let someone else tell me otherwise. I’d have to go about everything a little differently, but maybe this was the better way to do it, anyway. I believe that things happen for a reason a lot of the time. I can’t give up or stop living because of the negativity of others, and I should never allow another person to make me feel less than. 

Friday, April 12th: COUNT YOUR BLESSINGS

There is often a lot more to be thankful for than we ever realize. Sometimes when life throws a wrench in our plans, we forget that. This is the time to reflect on what you have in your life. 

Saturday and Sunday, April 13th and 14th: WHEN ONE DOOR CLOSES….

I’m sure you’ve heard that old adage. I feel as though a door swung wide open for me this past weekend. It was unexpected, and surreal. Is it too good to be true? Could it be possible? 

Monday, April 15th: YOU HAVE A LOT TO OFFER

A friend said this to me today. “Yes, they have a lot to offer you, but don’t forget that you have a lot to offer them, as well.” I am hoping for the very best with what I’ve been handed. I know I am speaking cryptically, but I want to wait on this, for now. What I’ve been shown is phenomenal, and would be a perfect fit for me. I don’t want to jinx it.

So much can happen in just a short week, and life can turn on a dime like that, without you even realizing it. Don’t lose hope when you find yourself stepping in proverbial shit, and don’t you ever give up! 

One thought on “What I’ve Learned In 7 Days”

  1. Great post and message for anyone who has ever been in your situation or might end up there someday. Good luck with this possibility that came your way.

Leave a Reply

