It’s A Small World After All….

It’s Thursday. You know what that means. Please check out my weekly blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week’s topic (inspired by her recent trip to Disney World) Melissa chose: Talk about a small world situation that happened to you personally. What came to mind for me would be the situations you may find yourself in, where you declare, “Wow, it really is a small world!” I have that happen a lot.

Just this past weekend, actually. So, I went to my R.I.P.P.E.D. class alone, yet knowing I’d run into an acquaintance of mine (K) and that she was bringing a friend of hers to training (M). While on a break, we started to talk and get to know each other a little better. It turns out that M is a teacher at my son’s school. I asked M if she knew someone named D, who had been a teacher years ago. Her face lit up with recognition. Yes, she did know D, very well as a matter of fact. Both ladies did. They were friends with D, as well as a good friend of mine, T. Now, I had originally met K through my gym- but I had no idea that we had mutual friends. This sort of thing happens to me a lot. You think that you are enclosed in a bubble of sorts, yet that’s rarely the case.

It’s easy when you never forget a face. Something that would always creep potential renters out when I worked as a leasing agent, was knowing I’d had a showing with them years prior at another community I had worked for. It could be ten years ago, but the image of someone’s face is burned into my brain, like a photo. I wish I had this ability with other things in my life (I lost my MP3 player for the SECOND time at the gym; luckily it’s so old, no one wants to steal it and they always turn it in to lost and found). I really do get forgetful, but I won’t forget you. It would go a little something like this:

Me: “Did you look at apartments roughly five years ago at XYC Apartments?”

Them: “Um, yeah. Wow. How did you know that?”

Me: “I’m the one who showed you the community. I never forget a face.”

This would either score me a lease, or it would backfire (some people just felt a little too creeped out).

Then there’s my husband, who was the DJ and who we referred to as the VOG (Voice of God; he would make the announcements) at my first wedding. At the time, we were just good friends, never knowing that roughly a decade later, we’d be married. My Aunt C (who attended both weddings) thought it would be clever to send me a clip of  the two of us dancing at my first wedding. He and I are busting a move to “Whip It” by Devo, during the dollar dance portion of the night. Then, it stops, and she splices in our wedding on the Oregon coast, showcasing just how much can happen in ten years. It really is a small world.

Check out the video HERE

 

One thought on “It’s A Small World After All….”

Leave a Reply

