Getting My R.I.P.P.E.D. Certification

First off- I need to apologize to my friends and/or family who had no clue I was going to pursue a R.I.P.P.E.D. certification. This would be the majority of you, and I have a really good reason for keeping my mouth shut. Remember the experience I had with my ACE group fitness certification?

Sara, eating crow. Not fun.

No, this time I knew I had to keep mum.

R.I.P.P.E.D. (which stands for Resistance/Interval/Power/Plyometrics/Endurance/Diet) is a “plateau proof fitness formula”, providing a completely different work out that is intense and never gets boring. Take a look at their website here: RIPPED

I had never stepped foot into a R.I.P.P.E.D. class. When the fitness coordinator at my gym handed me a flyer, insisting I take the instructor class, I shrugged and said, “Sure. Why not?” I mean, what did I have to lose?

I made the drive out to Lincoln feeling a little nervous, yet very excited. The nervousness stemmed from not knowing what to expect. I had done a little research online, trying to find out what R.I.P.P.E.D. even looked like as a work out routine, but I didn’t discover much. No, this would be done with one foot in front of the other, an adventure, yes?

First off, I have to give props to the Aspen Gym in Lincoln, NE. Gorgeous. When they say ‘state of the art’, they really mean it at this gym. My only gripe would be the location of the weight room, placed directly OVER the Group X room, where we all met up for the class. Throughout the day, the instructor would speak, interrupted by a very loud BANG or BOOM or CRASH, and we’d all glance up at the ceiling in fear, afraid something would come through and crash into us. Probably not the best location for a weight room.

The instructor was outstanding. She’s a Master Trainer for R.I.P.P.E.D., and is also certified in other modalities (Zumba, Cycling, etc.) You could tell she had a very sweet personality, and had said many times that she wanted us to contact her anytime, with questions, comments, etc. She also owns her own personal training company and has been in the fitness biz for 30+ years. Read more about her here.

The class started out with general introductions, as well as an intro into what R.I.P.P.E.D. is all about. I felt more at ease knowing that the ladies (and one gentleman) were at various teaching levels. Roughly five of us were newbies, never instructing a class. Most had one class under their belts, others had two or more. The instructor made it a point to address how no matter the level, we were ALL new to R.I.P.P.E.D., and we would learn together.

She had us stand in various positions within the class. This was so she’d be able to evaluate us. We wore name tags, but she had us strategically placed so she could get a good look at our form and technique. We were judged a lot on how we looked, what we did, and she would ask us to show a modification for a movement. This was done during our first R.I.P.P.E.D. class, through learning   each component of R.I.P.P.E.D., and then through the 2nd R.I.P.P.E.D. class (yes, we did two).

Can I just say how intense it was? I blame myself. I grabbed heavier weights (8-12lbs) not realizing just how many bicep curls, tricep extensions or shoulder presses we’d be doing. I guess I wanted to show off, a little. No, show off isn’t really the right word here. I wanted to make sure I’d pass the class. I wanted to show that I would try a little harder and not take it easy, that I would work for it. When we weren’t moving our body with weights, we were doing explosive movements during plyometrics, or performing intervals. It’s not just one round, but two or three, or sometimes more than that. It’s the constant repeating of the same movements over and over that fatigue those muscles, and it’s exactly what it did. None of us were dry when those routines were over and done with. There’s a reason we were instructed in an e-mail a week prior to the class to bring a change or two of clothes, due to the mass amounts of sweat we’d produce.

The instructor was very thorough with her teachings, so when it came time for the exam (my biggest fear of the day) there were no issues. I missed 5 out of 50, probably the best test I’ve ever done in my entire life, considering how much of a lousy test taker I am. I think that being there and getting the instruction with someone, and working through the movements with others helped me to retain the information. It also helped that she would give us a head’s up on what to expect from the exam.

The other participants were very friendly, and open to conversations. I met a nice girl from Missouri, who had driven 6 hours to be a part of the R.I.P.P.E.D. experience. Another girl who taught there at the Lincoln Aspen, and it was her birthday. She chose to learn R.I.P.P.E.D. on her birthday. Most had smiles and handshakes, and the instructor even gave out hugs to all of us at the end of the day. Being stuck together for over ten hours can certainly build up camaraderie between people, as I experienced yesterday. When I arrived home, I was tired, sweaty, and gross, but I felt pretty good. I accomplished something and that felt really great!

It was a really good experience, and one I would recommend to anyone who is looking to pursue group fitness, to learn some new techniques, or in need of trying something new.

ripped

 

7 thoughts on “Getting My R.I.P.P.E.D. Certification”

  1. Thanks for the review! I’m thinking of taking the course. Quick question-you mentioned an exam…did you mean written or technique?

    1. Both. But it’s fairly easy. The instructor will position everyone so he or she gets a good look at you while you perform some various movements. My instructor was a very nice lady, who would ask us to do a bicep curl, or get into a squat, and to show modifications for different movements. We went through a course guide (it was thin), and she’d ring a bell when something we’d talk about would be on the test, so we’d know to memorize it. I’m not a good test taker at all and only missed 3 questions on the written test. It’s multiple choice. You will go through two different RIPPED routines. We did seasons 8 and 12. The instructor watches everyone to see how they do, but it’s very low-key and not stressful at all. I think you have to perform very poorly not to get the cert. They want you to pass and do everything they can to enable that.

  2. Hi… I am thinking of doing the R.I.P.P.E.D certification but couldn’t find any costs for sustaining their huddle membership where one will get the new seasons’ instructor DVDs. Do you know the cost or any details? Thanks in advance!

    1. My memory is a little fuzzy on this, but the day of the cert, we were offered the opportunity to join the huddle for $29.99. If you don’t, you can join later but the price goes up a ton, and from what I understand, you won’t receive any of the latest DVD’s that help you to learn the new routines and seasons. If you’re in the huddle, they mail them automatically.

  3. Thank you for your blog. I’m doing the ripped certification Nov 7th in Clovis California. I’m very scared and nervous but I’m 50yrs and I feel this is something I’ve been wanting for the last couple of years so there’s no time like the present.

    1. Congrats to you! I think it’s great that you’re going and getting certified. My father is a certified spin instructor. He’s 58. I’ve never bought into age being a factor in anything. If you’re passionate about it, go for it! You’ll have to let me know how your cert class goes!

Leave a Reply

