It’s Thursday. You know what that means. Please check out my weekly blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

This week, Tracey chose for her topic: Are you afraid of success? Why or why not? Are you afraid of failure? Why or why not?

Well, I will tackle the “failure” portion of this question, because it seems to be the part that gets to me the most. Yes, I am very much afraid of failure. Need proof of this? Read my blog post re: my failed attempt at passing the group fitness certification test:

https://momarock.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/failing-my-ace-fitness-test/

I put a lot of pressure on myself. I get incredibly stressed out and nervous. The possibility of failing and letting someone down (whether it’s myself or others) feels like a lead weight right in the pit of my stomach!  The fitness test had cost my family money, and I knew not passing it meant having to dole out more money to re-take the test. That loomed over my head, big time.

What’s nice though, is that everyone makes mistakes and screws up from time to time. It’s a beautifully flawed quality that resides in all of us, and you either choose to retreat and hide away, sealing yourself off- or you choose to learn from the mistakes and failures in your life, working on bettering yourself so you don’t repeat the mistakes. I take comfort in knowing that even with my mistakes, it’s OK. Life will go on.

As for my successes in life- I revel in them. I feel if I work hard and put forth the effort, it’s OK to appreciate what I accomplish. Success will change you, just as failure will- but will it be in a positive way, or in a negative way? Will you handle it gracefully, or not?

Every moment is a learning experience, good or bad. It’s what you take away from those moments that truly matters.

One thought on “”

Leave a Reply

