My Song Dedications

It’s Thursday. You know what that means. Please check out my weekly blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

While listening to music the other day, I was reminiscing about the past, and thinking about certain individuals that the music reminded me of. Due to this, I came up with this week’s topic: It’s song dedication time! When you hear certain songs, who do they make you think of, and why?

I’ll start at the beginning, when Momarock was just a little pebble, thoughts of parenthood and living a grown up adventure never entering her world. I was surrounded by a multitude of musical influence. My dad was always playing the stereo, popping in tapes or we’d watch MTV. He tells me I was there and dancing along when the first video aired in 1981; “Video Killed the Radio Star”, by The Buggles. When I hear that song, it always reminds me of my dad, or when I hear “Saved By Zero”, by The Fixx. That’s one of his favorite songs. Or anything by Madonna. He also DJ’ed the local roller rink in my hometown when I was growing up, so he very much influenced what I listened to, as well as my friends and other kids who’d frequent the joint. Certain songs remind me of my mom, too. She had a fabulous record player and she’d let me tinker with it, putting various LP’s on there and plugging in her gigantic head phones so I could listen in private. Kool and the Gang’s “Ladies Night” or some Foreigner. And always Journey.

(my dad played this a lot at the roller rink)

I listened to a bunch of ’80’s music back in the day; my favorite song was Eddie Money’s “Take Me Home Tonight”. I was 6, and I have no idea as to how that song held the number #1 spot in my heart, but it did. As I got older, my very cool, very hip aunt turned out to be the biggest musical influence on me of all. In middle school, I got to spend a weekend with her at her bachelorette pad in Portland, and I discovered Pearl Jam. I fell in love with alternative music, and that led me to being the only girl dancing to Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit” at an after school party among a sea of 12 and 13 year olds, who watched me in annoyance and irritation. My aunt also showed me the classics, like Pink Floyd. I loved “Money” and the whole Dark Side of the Moon album.

(the first song I ever heard from Pearl Jam)

High school was full of alternative music- sprinkled in was some hard-core rap music. An old friend of mine (“M”) led me to Cypress Hill, Tupac and Black Sheep. The more expletives, all the better. We had a soft side, though. “M” popped in a tape she’d recorded off the radio. Madonna’s Erotica album was released on the airwaves, and she made sure to get as much of it as she could. We’d play it all the time in her family’s blue van, singing and pretending we were fabulous and sexy. We loved music, and often her whole family would sing along. Her sister (and one of my best friends) “G” loved Weird Al, and I always think of her when I hear “Spend One More Minute With You”. She and I would record ourselves singing and dancing to various songs, making home movies and videos in a sense. We’d perform to Jewel, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers. “Airplane” is one of my favorites. “G” and I had very similar tastes in music, although she couldn’t put up with the screams I’d emit while belting out to Nirvana’s On The Muddy Banks of the Wishkah album. Thinking back to those days, I don’t blame her!

I had a lot of teen angst built up inside me, like most young adults I’d imagine. Smashing Pumpkins and Green Day were my best friends. A friend of mine, “P” would dance with me to Hole songs, and we’d go crazy and wild while screaming. “Violet” was a favorite of ours. Another friend of mine, “L” loved the Smashing Pumpkins. She’d get annoyed at my constant singing, since I knew all the words and would never shut up. Yet, she was totally fine with us raging together while listening to “Bullet with Butterfly Wings”. I still listen, and I still appreciate, even though I’m no longer filled with rage and I’m in my mid-30’s.

My first boyfriend got me on a Duran Duran kick, as well as a Spice Girls kick. The best though was that he dedicated “Always A Woman” by Billy Joel to me. He said the song reminded him of my attitude and personality, and when he said that, he meant it in a good way, with sincerity. I never forgot that, and it’s one of my favorite songs.

My first trip to the altar, “J” was really into 80’s hairband music. Poison and Def Leppard were groups I was listening to all over again. He was very much into rock and hard rock, although I discovered the group Garbage because of him, and I fell in love. I still list Garbage as one of my favorites. We’d have Garbage’s debut album in the CD player, and I’d listen to it while dropping him off at work very early in the morning, before the sun was even up. On the way back home, “Vow” would play, and it was a ritual of mine to listen to it fully before getting out of the Jeep.

My second trip, “B” was also into 80’s music, although he had a flair for more of the classics. With a background in musical theatre, I was listening to a lot of Phantom of the Opera, and in various languages I might add. While not appreciating the theatre as much as he did, he would go and surprise me by liking songs like Blink 182’s “I Miss You”. It’s one of the few songs I’d hear him sing out loud, and we’d sing together in the car a lot when this would come on the radio.

My husband and I seem to appreciate a lot of the same music, and there’s not much that I know that he doesn’t. We love to dance, and the first time we danced together was actually at my first wedding. (Bizarre, I know). It was during the dollar dance, and he paid to kick up his heels to Devo’s “Whip It”. I’ve got that on video somewhere. He breaks out some fancy foot work to “Praise You” by Fatboy Slim. If it weren’t for him, I never would have appreciated Placebo’s “Pure Morning”, which is a really awesome song. Sappy songs make me think of him. Plain White T’s, “Hey There Delilah”. “No Air” by Jordin Sparks and Chris Brown. ”

My kids are starting to influence what I listen to. The 7-year-old doesn’t seem honed in yet on what he really likes, although movie soundtracks seem to get him going. He seems to enjoy Limahl’s “The Neverending Story”, the title theme to the movie. I have to say I enjoy that very much. My little guy always gets his groove going when he hears Yelle “Que Veux Tu Madeon Remix”.

Another best friend of mine, “J” has recently shown me the light on The Lumineers, “Ho Hey”. I really like that song. And my new obsession is an older song by Rihanna, “Only Girl (In The World).” I absolutely LOVE that song.

 

One thought on “My Song Dedications”

Leave a Reply

