Do Brands Matter?

It’s Thursday. You know what that means. Please check out my weekly blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

This week was Tracey’s turn. For her topic, she chose: Brand loyalty. Is it a good thing? Bad thing? Is there a brand(s) that it would take a vast shift in the universe to get you to stop using?

I’m the queen of bargains. If I make a recipe from scratch, I don’t care if the ingredients I use come from a name brand company, or from the store. I go with whatever’s cheapest, and leave it at that.

My husband and my kids however feel differently.

My husband wouldn’t be caught dead with anything other than Kraft mac and cheese. I’ve tried taking the time to make it homemade, and it never measures up to the powdery goodness he gets from a box of Kraft.

He also swears that the Campbell’s soups are the best, although I don’t think they have much flavor to them. If I had to choose, I’d go Progresso all the way. I’ve had generic soup though too, and it’s not a big deal to me.

My eldest son is a product of his generation. If he sees it on tv, he wants to try it and thinks it’s the best creation since sliced bread. Usually this pertains to anything with lots of sugar, calories, and a bunch of other crap I can’t even pronounce. When he goes grocery shopping with me, somehow we always end up bargaining over something he’s thrown into the cart that he swears up and down he’ll eat, and yet it sits in the fridge and it goes untouched. Whether he wants to admit this or not- he prefers healthy food. Don’t worry Ben, your secret it safe with me.

I think for myself, I’m more of a brand snob when it comes to places and things. Just the other day, my husband and I were debating on the better Chinese restaurant in our area. The one that is closest to us I feel has food that tastes better, but they’ve raised the prices. The place down the road has cheaper food, but tastes worse, in my opinion. In situations like this, I choose the place that I feel has the better quality food and I tend to stick with what I know and like. I don’t venture elsewhere very often. I also feel certain items are a better quality. I’ve always put my boys in Pampers diapers, because they always would leak out of Huggies. Pampers has the wrap around top to them, to better secure anything that may potentially shoot out from the top of the diaper, and Huggies doesn’t have that. Girls seem to do much better in Huggies. Yet, I use Huggies wipes because the Pampers wipes are really wet and slippery, and I don’t think it catches much of the nasty poo I’m trying to remove, and I’ve had much better success with Huggies. I’ve tried the generic brands, and haven’t had as great of success.

I don’t think it’s a “good” or “bad” thing to have brand loyalty, but it speaks more to your preference and what you feel is important to spend money on. You work hard for your money, and you want to see your dollar go towards items that you feel have done well for you in the past.

To each his own, for sure.

One thought on “Do Brands Matter?”

  1. Nasty poo…hahaha. 🙂
    I was impressed a few weeks ago when I bought store brand Fruity Pebbles and name brand ones, and my older son wanted the store brand version instead of the name brand.
    Great post!

Leave a Reply

