The One Thing I Collect

It’s Thursday. You know what that means. Please check out my weekly blog group, comprised of a fantastic group of ladies who will dazzle you with insight on various topics.  After reading my post, check out their blogs as well. Just click on:

Froggie (Tracey): One frog’s distinct voice on the world around her.

Merry Land Girl (Melissa): Tales of a suburban mom who likes to talk about pop culture, books, Judaism, family, friendship and anything else that comes to mind.

Mom Of Many (Susanna): One Mom’s perspective on life, raising kids, knitting and other unrelated topics.

For this week, Susanna picked: What do you collect? Why is this a reflection of you?

I’m not big into collecting. I’ve tried my hand at it off and on over the years, with minimal success. On a whim, I blogged about this topic in 2011, and I think this still holds true and relevant for me today as it did almost two years ago:

The post on collecting

The thing is, while I don’t seem to mind packing up books, clothing and misc. items and shipping them off to Goodwill, I have a very hard time with getting rid of people. As I stated in my collector blog post, my friends list on Facebook reads like a road map to my past. I am friends with ex-boyfriends (and ex-husbands), and I am friends with the girlfriends and wives of my exes. I still have friendships that have spanned decades, and I have a few acquaintances on my list as well. Some regard me as being odd or weird (well, I’m sure it’s not just this they base their opinion on), but it’s a big factor.

I feel as though life is just TOO SHORT. I don’t like to hold a grudge. It’s just not worth it. People make mistakes and we can choose to live in anger and resentment, or we can choose to grow up and learn from the situation and move forward. My ability to be OK with people, be forgiven or to forgive others speaks volumes on who I am as a person, and also speaks volumes regarding the wonderful people I have relationships with.

Now, that’s not to say I accept and cling to everyone. There have been a few people in my life who are definite soul suckers. It seems their prime reason for being in my life is to drain me, to hurt me, or to better themselves by trying to make me feel worthless. Those people will never get an accepted friend request on Facebook or in any other aspect of my existence. Again, life is just TOO SHORT to allow anyone to treat you in such a manner, and I have better things to do.

 

2 thoughts on “The One Thing I Collect”

  1. Glad I’m part of your collection. 🙂 I had a feeling you were going to write about this because I remember you saying several times about being a people collector. I’m glad you don’t deal with toxic friends.

Leave a Reply

