Lactate- It’s What’s For Dinner

If it’s your muscles that are hungry, that is.

Lactic acid is a substance produced through the breakdown of glucose and pyruvate (an organic acid). When you work out, it can cause high levels of this lactic acid, causing a burning sensation or painful, sore muscles. I think about the times I’ve pushed my body to the limit, whether during an intense run, or some extreme body shaping class. Here’s a great site for more information:

Lactic acid

Sometimes, the altitude you are working out at can contribute. When you are at higher altitudes, the availability of oxygen in the air is reduced, leading to a lactic build up in the muscles. This can cause muscle fatigue and the burning sensation. You might  need to modify the intensity of the work out in order for you to continue exercising for longer periods of time.

So, what can you do about it?

Stay hydrated. The more you drink, the less likely you’ll feel the burn.

Work out more frequently. The more physically fit you are, the less glucose your body will need to burn and there will be less acid build up.

Build up to your intensity. Take smaller steps to reach towards your fitness goals.

STRETCH. Stretching after a work out helps to release lactic acid.

Eat foods that will help. Avocados. Bananas. Milk.

And know that it won’t last forever. Lactic acid in small amounts is not damaging to your body and may even have some beneficial effects on your metabolism.

2 thoughts on “Lactate- It’s What’s For Dinner”

  1. Superb blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a
    paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely confused .. Any tips? Kudos!

    1. Thank you! I started out by paying for my blog through Go Daddy, but I wasn’t thrilled with it, so I decided to try out WordPress and I haven’t looked back! You could always go the free route first, and go from there. Some blogs are themed, and I tried to go that route with sticking with one topic, but it was too hard for me. I bounce around a lot on various subjects! Write what you want, and people will read you. 🙂 Let me know when you have your blog up and running; I’ll give you a follow for sure!

Leave a Reply

